argh my nearly-dead garden

Today was the first day this week that I could get out there and see how bad the storm damage was for ze little plants. Seriously not good. In the front herb garden, so far the rosemary, lavender, and oregano have come through unscathed. Only 3 of the little parsley plants have survived — the others were buried utterly under a deluge of silt (like nearly an inch over the top of them). I moved the Melissa today in hopes that the tiny amount of green in the stems (zorn, zorn, all the leaves are dead as doornails), in a few of the stems that is, indicates that it might revive in a stronger-light and less power-watering environment. Our vad has no idea how to water plants. I may ask him to let me relieve him of that duty.

The tree I had replanted, the one folks attempted to steal, has fallen over again. I’ve got to move it someplace new but no idea where yet.

In the back garden, most of the lettuce got pounded and drowned to death. The radishes are still alive but their stalks are now very spindly and they are sort of laying over on the their sides. Not a good omen. I harvested 9 cherry tomatoes that had gotten knocked off their stems in a nearly-ripe state and am ripening them the rest of the way inside. Three of the tomato plants are, however, continuing to make new babies and there are still green and starting to ripen fruit on them. The fourth looks like it is giving up the ghost. Two out of the six hot pepper plants look to also be giving up the ghost. They just got way too much water on them and the flowers that had been growing on all of the peppers got battered off the plants.

It is hard to tell where my compost pits are. Yeah, heavy layer of silt covering them all. I did plant out today the base of the store-bought celery that I am attempting to re-grow. I’ve got to re-plant the yellow onion sets. They are on a slightly higher area and so the soil covering them washed down to help kill the lettuce and left the onion bulbs half uncovered. Tomorrow.

Anyone know, by the way, what sort of critter burrows pretty deep holes/tunnels in our gardens here? I’m very much hoping it isn’t snakes. There are five or six ‘burrows’ in the back. A couple of weeks ago, there was just one and now…

I need to buy more potting soil so I can start the lettuce anew and get ready to start the plants for spring/summer. I wish I had an indoor grow light set-up but hey, I wish I had just regular heating for me and I’d go for that first, heh. Brrr. Yeah, kinda cold inside.

Later today I plan to post about yesterday, an absolutely awesome day, my HUGE can of Bush’s vegetarian baked beans that I keep ooohing and ahhing over — it is sitting like on an alter on the kitchen counter because I can’t consign it to the dark recesses of a cabinet — and the incredibly fun visit I had with our own Tiger Mike. And, seriously, after the pictures he showed me, if I weren’t a crazy little Zionist, I’d be heading for Alaska.

11 responses to “argh my nearly-dead garden”

  1. tddpirate says :

    The critter is probably a mole rat (חולד). There are two links to the Wikipedia in a response which is awaiting for your moderation. Once you approve that response, please delete this response.

  2. Tiger Mike says :

    are there moles in Israel?

    for any of you who remember, the beans were to pay off a bet I lost about the presidential election. That will teach me to bet on politics.

  3. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    On another topic. I said several times that I am pretty sure, convinced that Barack Hussein Obama is a closet Muslim and also a bogus convert to Christianity. Well, here is another article that proves this point.
    Read “Obama interested in ‘Allah-is-God’ curriculum” at http://www.wnd.com/2013/01/obama-interested-in-allah-is-god-curriculum/

    • Lynne says :

      Whatever he is, it is unfortunate for the US and for the rest of the world that leadership of the US rests with him.

  4. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, check email :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

