Yum, one cool cucumber

Ok, so it is the only thing the garden has produced so far but wow did my first cucumber taste great!  It was four inches long and about an inch and a half wide when I plucked it off the cucumber vine this morning.  Our veggies are way fresher and taste way better than the ones you can buy in the States but this was even fresher still.  I considered putting it in my breakfast salad but, oh no, the very first fruit from the garden had to have special solo treatment.  So, after I admired it for a considerable time I washed it up and was surprised — there were no ‘ends’ that needed to be chopped off and discarded.  I sliced the entire thing up into perfect round slices and devoured them one by one.  Ummmm.  UMMMMMM.   I tried some salt on a couple of pieces but it was seriously too good to have anything else added.

There are a lot more maybe and a couple definitely baby cucumbers growing to take its place and after that delicious little breakfast snack they simply can’t grow fast enough for me.  I’m confrusticated (Yaeli’s combination of confused and frustrated) with the zucchini though — we are talking a zillion flowers have come and gone and nary a zucchini in the making and today I realized that ALL of the flowers on the two ‘ready’ plants have been and are male flowers.  Where, I ask, are the little zucchini ladies?

I’m quite convinced that the “pepper” plants I transplanted are not peppers after all but WEEDS.  Yeah pepper plants don’t have these spikey things come up from the top of the plant that I think are what passes as the flowers on these suckers.  I’m not going to yank them out of the ground though until the hot peppers (that I really know to be hot peppers) are ready to transplant — all 6 this time have sprouted 🙂  I can wait another week to compost some weeds…

I’m wondering if the neighbours would notice or care if I take over another say 2×8 square feet of the yard?  I realized that I won’t have anyplace to put the lettuce come September as I’ve over-crowded things in already!

I’m also in serious and sad need of dirt.  The compost is just not composting fast enough.  Digging little 6 inch deep by less than a foot wide holes to compost in just does not cut it.  I want big bins full of good dirt! I’ve got what to compost (and how) just no more spots to dig little unobtrusive holes.   I don’t even have enough bad dirt to cover the growing potato plants for the first time (already!!) and you are supposed to get a big ole size of a big trashcan tall heap around ’em by harvest time in about 4 months.

Ah the trials and tribulations of an urban gardener in a desert.

7 responses to “Yum, one cool cucumber”

  1. Lynne says :

    At least you had the gardening experience as a rural gardener in Georgia to prepare you a bit for now. Congrats on the cucumber! Now, I feel that I must start a Fall garden here.

  2. Mac says :

    Are you seeing any bees? Maybe the zucchini flowers aren’t getting pollinated.

  3. israeliminx says :

    Ema, lol, well growing here is definitely easier than in Georgia red clay to start but I had a garden that was something like 100 times the size there (actually bigger) so even though things grew less well there, there was more of it eh doing stuff like producing food. Oh well, it has only been 6 weeks since I planted the first seed so I shouldn’t complain just yet.

  4. Mac says :

    you need bees!

  5. Lynne says :

    Mac, she does indeed.

  6. israeliminx says :

    We’re having a pretty major bee crisis actually. There is some virus that is just devastating honeybee colonies. I’ve a friend whose father keeps bees and his entire hive got it and died.

Leave a Reply

