bridal showers, garden volunteers and shabbat shalom!

The computer going back to the folks who sold it to me is going to have to wait until Sunday or Monday.  This morning I over-slept and barely managed to get to the stores and back before things started shutting down (it is half-day here on Fridays and in my area shops close between 12-2 for the weekend).  I over-slept after getting home late last night from the bridal shower of one of my dearest friends.  Yeah and I  wimped out early too, leaving for home instead of joining the final fling of dancing at a club.  The shower was so much fun (not to mention the amazing desserts that were almost too beautiful to eat — yo, I overcame my awe and they tasted even better than they looked — that M made, and whoever made the veggie lasagna needs to open up a restaurant).

The neat thing about the shower was that I got to have fun even before the shower and that was in shopping for a hat or scarf for the bride so that she’ll have a good collection for daily wear after the wedding when she’ll need to keep her hair covered.  I live in Bnei Brak and so there are a lot of cover-the-head shops.  I made an excursion earlier this week but didn’t find anything that just seemed to fit the bill and I was pressed for time.  On Wednesday, however, I had a couple of hours to devote to the perfect head covering.  I’d already decided that I would pick something in the full Monty category because I correctly figured that the other folks in attendance were going to range (along with their head coverings) from secular to frum-light.  I know she has occasions where she has to be frum-complete.  I tell you, it was enough to make me wish I was frum-deep and married, there were so many beautiful ones to choose from and I had so much fun trying them on before I finally settled on a festive one that fits her colouring.

There are 9 baby tomato plants growing in my garden that I did not plant.   I’ve got 7 nicely growing tomato plants that I did plant.  These 9 new little “volunteers” seem to have sprouted from the first batch of compost I made and added into the garden.  Your grocery vegetables at work, it seems!  Now I’ve got to decide what to do with them.  All of the seedlings are very robust and hardy and I am really loathe to rip out and compost again what could be making future food — but where to transplant them to I don’t know.  They’ve got to be moved as they are not only all crowded together but they are way too close to the “official and starting to flower” plants.  On Sunday, I’m going to scour the yard for potential guerrilla transplant spots.

This afternoon, well for the next hour, I’m going to be continuing to clean the little apartment and sending up little prayers of thanks that we are having a break in the heat and I”m not utterly melting just walking across the room.  Wishing you all a shabbat shalom, good weekend, happy sunday and all manner of other good things!

11 responses to “bridal showers, garden volunteers and shabbat shalom!”

  1. TDDPirate says :

    Two or three more days without audio in movies?
    Could we use you afterwards as a lobbyist in efforts to get captioning into all video materials in the world?
    🙂

  2. Redhand says :

    What will they play when you get married, Marche au supplice?

  3. Lynne says :

    Ah, troll alert.

  4. Mac says :

    Don’t call me a troll, lol! Yaeli, we always called the stray plants- vollunteers. We had some amazing water melon vines grow late in the season after eating and then spitting WM seeds in to the yard.

  5. Dick says :

    Might be a good time to try a little container gardening. Yes, more watering but better than discarding your volunteers. Tomatoes generally do well in containers (just simple small pots will work fine).

  6. Lynne says :

    Dick, Any advice about trying to grow tomatoes in Central Texas in the Fall?

    • Dick says :

      Lynne;

      Fall tomatoes are usually successful even up here in DFW as long as we don’t have insane fall weather. The couple of times I’ve tried it, I’ve put them in pots — either 8″ plastic or 16″ narrow rectangular with 2 per pot. That way if we get a killer early arctic front I can just pick them up and put them in the garage for a couple of days. You’ll have to water them often and maybe even push them with a tomato food for quicker production. You also might consider going to a local nursery and asking about Fall tomato varieties, as I know there are some varieties which do much better than others at Fall production. Remember that they should be able to produce when the weather is getting cooler rather than warmer as Spring tomatoes would. Good luck.

  7. israeliminx says :

    Mac how neat!! I never had success with growing watermelons. I tried it in Georgia and they took over the yard but only produced one little softball sized melon. Watermelon is my absolutely favourite fruit!

    Dick, awesome idea! I’m going to have a look about and see if I can find some sort of container I could plant them in! I’m wondering if an ice-cream container would be big enough…hmmmmm.

  8. Shoshanna says :

    Volunteer plants are often the most hardy and successful, I’ve found. I hope you can find space for them.

Leave a Reply

