computer what the..?!?

I just turned on my computer, it got to the happy little user screen that you click to get your desktop to open, clicked on it (there is only one user, me) and it opens with a thing saying it has opened into a temporary account, that anything I create in this account will not be saved and will be deleted when I log off. It is not my desktop (none of the folders I created are there, programs open like they’ve never been used before) and I can’t access any of my files. So it said to access another user’s stuff I’d need to log off and relog on as the other user. I logged off and there was my click to log on icon, I clicked it and it…did the same thing. When I tried “switch user” it popped up “me” and as being “logged on.” WHAT THE HELL?

Update: Seems a lot of other HP users are having the same issue over on the hp community tech support but so far no one has offered any solutions. HP SUCKS. First the sound, then not being able to switch typing languages and now this on a brand new computer.

5 responses to “computer what the..?!?”

  1. DaninVan says :

    Hi; what operating system did it come with? Are your (old?) files still backed up somehow?. If they are, it may well be worth your while to have the OS re-installed. Hopefully the warranty covers ALL your expenses, and you have a trusted techie on your side!
    Good luck,
    -Dan
    Canada

  2. Lynne says :

    Is your only option to send the computer off to be fixed? Talk to tech support, find out how to contact the top people at HP, and tell them you are going to blog about this problem, twitter about it, and put it on Facebook.

  3. 300yrs in America says :

    Im NO computer expert but maybe someone is trying to hack your account. My friend @ bare naked islam is under constant attack. Hopefully it is a tech thing.

    • Lynne says :

      300 yr. in America, Yaeli has had constant attacks from hackers, so maybe that is the problem…. sigh Whatever it is, it isn’t good.

  4. israeliminx says :

    It is definitely an hp thing (I’ve got a pavilion g6 notebook). I managed to finally get it to go into safe mode and then roll it back to a previously saved ‘safe’ restore point and that seems to have fixed it, at least for now. I still have no solution for not being able to type in hebrew, however.

Leave a Reply

