Brazen: Right out of the ground!!

About a month ago I noticed that two of our well-established, big, deep-shade plants in the front of the apartment (kinda palm-like plants) were gone, just lock, stock, and root. The apartment on my floor, just next to mine was being renovated and I assumed that some of the workmen traipsing around with ladders and so forth outside must have done them some severe damage and they’d been removed. But today when I went out to go do the watering for my back-garden plants I just stopped with my mouth open. THREE more of our totally healthy and quite beautiful deep-shade plants were just gone. Like not a trace of them remaining kind of gone. They were all in the big bed just under the overhang of my apartment. GONE.

We are not talking tiny plants here people but palm trees and big, huge cactus plants.

I simply cannot believe the brazenness, the gall, the utter immorality of this act.

9 responses to “Brazen: Right out of the ground!!”

  1. Lynne says :

    I know it’s shocking, but I’ve known of many cases where plants were stolen right out of the ground. First, at an elementary school, our beautiful camillias were taken. When I was gardening at my condo, my plants were pulled out of the ground and taken—lots of them. And recently, a business in my neighborhood landscaped an area and every plant was stolen in the middle of the night.
    Yes, brazen.

  2. Mac says :

    I didn’t realize there was this sort of black market of plat stealing out there. I must really be out of touch!

  3. Lynne says :

    Off-topic: Being reported on CBS: Syrian tanks and other military stuff entered the Golan Heights today. Israel has complained to the UN….
    Wonder what is going on?

  4. israeliminx says :

    Ema, they weren’t intent on killing us, thankfully, but were intent on killing their own people. Not good any way you look at it.

  5. Lynne says :

    What is happening in Syria is horrifying, and I think of Y. and his family all the time, wondering where he is and if he is safe.

Leave a Reply

