the good little garden

Because the situation with the election and the future of America is just too depressing to think about, it is a good time to focus on the little garden. I’ve been a real little garden minx this morning. That always cheers me up! The cherry tomato plants are continuing to blossom and produce little green balls, and several of those little balls are small orange suns that will be ripe for picking tomorrow.

The parsley and lettuce I planted (lettuce both from seed and re-plants of the stalks from grocery-bought bunches) are growing like gangbusters. One of the three cucumbers that I planted out of season is growing big and strong but I’ll likely pull the other two up as they seem pretty puny specimens and add them to one of the compost pits. The bell pepper is continuing to ripen but the plant hasn’t put out any other flowers so I might just get the one. There are 3 little hot peppers on the hot pepper plant I put next to one of the rose bushes. It is funny because that seedling was the puniest and least likely of the bunch that I transplanted and it is the only one that is a) not being eaten mercilessly by something and b) producing fruit and c) now a big healthy specimen.

The garlic cloves I planted a couple of weeks ago have sprouted and how. Their shoots are now taller than the green onions that have been growing for months! Seriously, they are a foot high. So today I planted another 6 cloves, planning to make an entire outer ring around one of the rose bushes (with green onions filling the inner ring) by the end of the month. I might not get garlic cloves of any use from them (garlic does best in cold climates) but I’ll definitely get some garlic scapes and those add the nice garlic taste but milder — great for salads, sandwiches, and stir-fries. I also planted some more green onions, thanks to my neighbour who knocked on my door last evening and asked if I could use some of her kitchen scraps for the compost pit and then gave me a little bag of dinner prep odds and ends — I could indeed and when I was dumping it on the compost this morning I discovered 9 little green onion rootlet ends among the carrot scrapings, potato peels and wilty lettuce bits– out of the compost and into the soil they went!

Every single cutting from the rosemary I bought at the store has sprouted roots. This is pretty cool because I had little hope of getting even one to grow roots in my little glass of water. The packet I bought, planning to use the rosemary to spice up my tomato sauce for pasta, had three long and multi-branched sprigs pretzeled and crammed into the plastic container. I cut the three into twelve pieces, stripped off all the leave but at the very top of each, and just stuck them into a plastic cup with water. Yee haw. I’ll be very happy if just 3 or 4 of them survive and thrive once in the soil but maybe all of them will. I plan to put them along our very front wall where we’ve got a bare patch of soil about 5 feet long — I’m hoping to get some lavender to grow along that space as well in the spring.

I had some fun talking with two elderly neighbours from the apartment building behind mine, one in a wheelchair and the other still spry as a lark. I might take the spry one’s advice and plant some carrots in the space she pointed out. I’ve never had good luck with carrots and I’ve not had good luck with anything planted in that spot — those really healthy hot pepper seedlings I’d planted there have been eaten pretty much lock, stock and practically stem. But maybe something below ground would flourish?

10 responses to “the good little garden”

  1. Lynne says :

    The little garden sounds wonderful! I’ll be sending you some roquette seeds, which will do great in cold and cool weather. This is a salad green that can be used alone in a salad or mixed with other lettuce (I like that way best). It’s delicious. It’s been discovered all over the US but it has long been a staple in Cajun cooking in the Louisiana bayou country, and was called “French Roquette”. You may know it as arugula.

  2. Mac says :

    Sounds like pleasant morning! I would tell you to try some wintercress, but it is a radial, ground hugging plant that takes up space. But, it is so good and takes almost no care to grow. They would pop up wild after the summer crops would be harvested in NC. They grow very well in winter here.

    • Mac says :

      We call them creasy greens here.

      • israeliminx says :

        Ooooh wow I wonder what they call them here and if I could get my hands on them! I know I’d practically give my life for collard greens (I haven’t eaten them since I was like 19, but they were huge staples growing up and primary in my grandmother’s garden and seriously make spinach look like a bastard cousin when boiled up and served with melted butter and a generous topping of hot sauce or included in a big pot of red beans and rice. Damn.).

  3. Mike says :

    We got two inches of snow last night, so no gardening here.

  4. israeliminx says :

    Snow! Yikes!! People are still running around in shorts and t-shirts here.

    Hmm, I should try the shuk in Petakh Tikva, I’ve never been to it — no idea where it is. Shuk HaCarmel is too much of a slog to go to. I’ve only been once in the 3 years since moving out of Tel Aviv but I definitely miss it. Used to go every week 😦

    • TDDPirate says :

      Take bus line 51 or sherut line 51 to the east. It passes right through the shuk in Petah Tikva. Disembark in the bus stop right after the roundabout (there is exactly one roundabout in the path of line 51 to the east of Tel Aviv).

Leave a Reply

