Tomorrow will be baking day

I discovered late this afternoon that my eggs are about to go off. Actually, the use-by date is today but I’m figuring they should be ok for another 24 hours if they are used in baking. So tomorrow morning I’ll do a major counter cleaning and whip up a batch of southern jalapeno cornbread (using peppers from my own garden!), a batch of sweet cornbread, zucchini muffins and… I need to find a recipe that doesn’t require flour (as I’ve only enough for those 3 recipes) but that needs 3 more eggs and the contents of whatever I’ve got in my cupboard.

If I’d realized the eggs were about to be toast, so to speak, Í’d have picked up some more today when I was at the store. I did pick up 3 cans of pickles, 3 cans of green olives, and 3 cans of black olives. Usually, a can of each costs between 7-9 sheks but they had a special of 3 cans for 12 sheks (essentially half price). I’d have grabbed more of the pickle cans (and they are ones with extra in them) if I could have carried them, but the huge cabbage head (on sale for 1 shek!) was quite heavy and I had the 4 big bottles of (on sale) water. Hmm, I probably wouldn’t have gotten more eggs, I couldn’t even manage to add in a loaf of bread to my load.

3 responses to “Tomorrow will be baking day”

  1. Lynne says :

    Baking sounds good! You could use your extra couple of eggs in a salad. Good luck with gardening and baking tomorrow!

  2. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    Well, Yael, good baking day!

    An interesting article on “Hamas: Ending Gaza arms smuggling…” at http://www.jpost.com/DiplomacyAndPolitics/Article.aspx?id=293230
    It says:
    “Senior Hamas official Izzat al-Rishiq says deal with Israel to end fighting does not include Egyptian commitment to work with the US to stop the flow of weapons into Gaza.”
    Basically, Hamas is working hard to re-arm themselves!!
    What kind of quiet is it?
    When is the Israeli government going to do something long-term to kill Hamas?
    Well, we will see in the coming months.

  3. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, check email.

Leave a Reply

