police arriving at your apartment at 6 a.m. so not fun

Yo, if I could schedule them to arrive on Mondays or Tuesdays and so be sure I’d not overslept for work… but no, they came today. Just before 6, the buzzer to my apartment went off not once, or twice, or three times. At first, I thought it was some really inconsiderate person buzzing for someone else (because out admittance system is off, I get buzzed when folks are buzzing for three other apartments in the building). But then it buzzed and buzzed and buzzed and buzzed. So, still thinking it was for a neighbour, I got up and intended to give whoever it was a piece of my mind as I stumbled downstairs to the entry door.

But no. They wanted my apartment and the people wanting my apartment were a pair of policemen. Actually, a policeman and a policewoman. “Tamara?” they didn’t ask so much as demand. No, no I’m not, who do you want and what apartment? (As far as I know, we don’t have a Tamara in the building). “Apartment X, Tamara somethingorother.” Well, I am apartment X but there is no Tamara here of any description. Who lives in your apartment? Only me and way too many cats for any sane person to co-habitat with. Did I know Tamara? No. How long had I lived here? I told them. Oh well, sorry to bother you.

Dude, there is no excuse. I had student meetings until midnight last night and almost no sleep since my blissful 6 hours on Saturday night. I was so planning to sleep until 9 this morning and now I am UP. Do you have any idea what you’ve done to my functioning for today? It ain’t good. But, at least I’m not Tamara whateverhername is because whatever they want her for, it doesn’t look good.

6 responses to “police arriving at your apartment at 6 a.m. so not fun”

  1. 300yrs in America says :

    Thank the Lord you werent tamara.thank Him again you dont resemble her.Thank Him once again they didnt shoot first and ask questions later.I am always happy when i am not the perp the cops are after.

  2. TDDPirate says :

    Reminds me of the time I had a neighbor with problems (now he is deceased, and after his death I learned from another neighbor that he was a drug addict).
    This neighbor had the same last name as me (no family relationship).

    “Thanks” to him, I got several visits by policemen and by debt collection thugs. Fortunately it was easy to explain to all of them that the guy they are looking for is living one floor above me.

  3. Lynne says :

    Glad that the Israeli police don’t shoot first and ask questions later like some of the cops in New Orleans tended to do.
    Ah, you could have mentioned the stolen plants… 🙂

  4. israeliminx says :

    What annoyed me the most was having that insto adrenalin rush fear reaction on sight of two police at that hour that they were there to tell me that someone I love and care about had been in an accident or something else horrible had happened to them. I’m an emergency contact for several olim friends here and was like gah…

Leave a Reply

