will we break voting turnout records?

Yes and no, depending on when you start counting. Back in the 50s, 60s and and early 70s, more than 75% of the eligible Israeli population voted. That percent has been falling ever since then and, in the last election, we hit the low 60s. To be sure, we still top, by more than double, the percent of Americans who vote and leave Canadians, Brits, and European countries in the dust even at our lowest turn-out levels.

This year is, however, looking to break recent records. Polls are open for another 3 1/2 hours (go vote, go vote, go vote if you haven’t already!!!).

By 4 p.m. we’d already had a greater percent voting since 1999 and that is awesome but we need above 90% of eligible voters weighing in (5,656,705 of a population of 7 million –the little ones being ineligible). These are crucial times and the fate of our nation and perhaps our very survival is going to be resting in our hands in the next few years. Get off your duff and cast your ballot. You’ve still got time, so go!!

9 responses to “will we break voting turnout records?”

  1. Tiger Mike says :

    I am almost as nervous with this election Asia’s for the one in the United States in November. I am reading that left leaning areas are having a very high turnout.

    Hows the puppy?

  2. Mike says :

    So, if the predictions from exit polls are right, how does anybody form a coalition. What’s the Jewish House position on the Haredi draft? What’s it’s position on civil marriage?

    I ask because I don’t know and also I know Leiberman supports both, so I’m trying to imaging how that coalition would function, especially given that I understand Netanyahu doesn’t care for Bennet.

  3. Tiger Mike says :

    I see that my last reply didn’t post.

    Mike, both Jewish Home and Yesh Atid support Army or national service for The haredi. I don’t know about civil marriage.

    I am hearing hear in Jerusalem that Jewish Home is expecting to get two more seats once the army vote is counted. But that may just be wishful thinking on their part.

    • Mike says :

      Thanks TM. All I can say is the pundits get it wrong again. I’m not a Netanyahu fan for a lot of reasons and I definitely don’t like Jewish Home (I’m not Israeli thoug), but I see this outcome as a bad for Israel. I would rather seen a strong Netanyahu rather than a hash because a hash will encourage certain outside parties (a clueless American president who shall remain nameless) to meddle in ways that will only make things worse.

  4. israeliminx says :

    I’m surprised and yet not that Yesh Atid seems to have gotten as much support as it did. I was expecting it to earn between 14-15 and not based on position but the cult of personality. The cult of personality looks to have proven stronger than I expected and that the polls predicted (ya know, there was a whole law put into place about a year and a bit ago barring high level media personalities from running as head of parties called essentially the Lapid Law). That said, I think Yesh Atid does have more than the other left of center parties has to offer. It is right of center on some elements and left of center on others and dead on center on still others. It was the only nebulous left of center party I considered strongly before deciding against in the final analysis of my own vote.

    Lapid has previously expressed a desire to coalition with Likud and if the party follows through and Bibi adds in Habayit HaYehudi, then the elements of both of the two side parties that I disagree with may essentially count each other out,and I’ll be a pretty happy camper.

  5. Tiger Mike says :

    last night (or it may have been early this morning) I was listening to Dov Lipman, # 17 on the Yesh Atid list. He is an American born rabbi who made Alyah only 8 years ago.

    With people like him in Yesh Atid, I feel some what encouraged. He sounded like me in his political opinions. But he (and as far as I can tell, the whole party from Lapid on down) didn’t mention the so called Peace Process at all.

    My biggest issue is national security and territorial integrity. I am speculating that with people like Lipman, Yesh Atid isn’t planning on surrender to the Pals any time soon (like I think Livni would if she had the chance).

    Of course, not being Israeli, I can’t vote and my opinion doesn’t count.

    It’s my last night in Israel. After dark I’m going to the Kotel to thank G-d for all he has given me and for letting me come here to this magical city. Then I am going to take my little bottle of Jack Daniel’s (50 ml and it cost 10 freaking bucks!) and try to get some sleep. I have a massive cough and cold I caught while in the army base last week.

    • Lynne says :

      Tiger Mike, I hope that your next stop is home in the sunny South for some rest and relaxation to get over your cough and cold. At least, I hope that your home is getting some good weather and sunshine. It’s a chilly, gray day in Austin.
      I agree with you. My biggest concerns are Israeli national security and territorial integrity, so I hope that those who will be in power will safeguard those.

    • israeliminx says :

      Tiger Mike — yikes I hope you feel better soon!! I hope you have a good trip home as well. I know your family will be glad to have ya back! Getting to visit with you brightened up my least favourite month of the year. I’ve decided I’m going to eat those beans you brought me as a celebration on the day the clocks get put back an hour!

      I think Yesh Atid will make a good partner in the coalition. Of the left of center parties, Lapid’s is the most pragmatic and will be a good counter-weight to the religious parties and Bennett’s Habayit HaYehudi without being unwilling to engage in compromises to get things done.

  6. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, check emails.

Leave a Reply

