hernia-ville

When I say I am hoping I didn’t give myself a hernia carrying home the exams and papers to grade that I had to collect today, I am not exaggerating. I pulled something big in my neck and I can barely lift my arms up to laptop level, not because of the neck (muscle?) but my shoulder and upper arm muscles. 137 twelve-page papers and 140 8-page long exams make for a seriously heavy load, especially when you have to carry that load a little over two miles on foot. The exam was early this morning and so I left out of here without having had any caffeine. That made me into a brainless nitwit, clearly, because if I’d had a brain I would have thought to bring my grocery pull cart. It still would have been a less than pleasant journey to and fro with hauling the unwieldy thing onto and off of buses but, well, dude.

I did a good Samaritan act for the kitties on the campus. Chicken drumsticks had been on the cafeteria menu and the servers were throwing tons of the bones they collected off left trays into the garbage. So I asked one of our nice Ethiopian kitchen workers if, instead, he could put the bones aside and I’d come back in a couple of hours and collect them. He did and, just before the exams were ready for me to pick up, I got the bones and went out and stripped them of everything tasty left on them for the cats who, for some reason, were seriously hungry today. There was one adorable, extremely feral, baby girl cat in the mix and, while she did an excellent job of scaring off the bigger cats and snagging pieces out from under their noses, I still made sure she got extra. Of course, now, I reek of chicken.

My apartment is a disaster area but it is just going to have to wait until tomorrow. I don’t have a single oomph left in me.

6 responses to “hernia-ville”

  1. Lynne says :

    Yes, your grocery cart would have helped so much! Why don’t you try to organize a group on campus to work on dealing with the cats? You could promote the Trap/Neuter/Release program and get a group to help with feeding them. You might be able to get city or campus help for food or donations from local stores. It could be a model of what could be done elsewhere.

  2. Mac says :

    HAte to hear your all “stove up” as we call it here. Sit back and watch this, I’d never seen it before….https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKPiBeZOkxg&feature=player_embedded#!

  3. israeliminx says :

    Gotta love James Brown!

  4. Lynne says :

    Ever watch the movie from the early 1990s, The Commitments? Great James Brown clip!

  5. Mac says :

    Yes Lynne, i remember that movie. Loved the music.

    • Lynne says :

      Me, too. You know that all of the actors in it were folks from the community and none were professional? Several have gone on to have acting careers.
      Yes, loved the music.

Leave a Reply

