entering Shabbat

It is the grand tomato seed experiment. Condition 1: I’ve direct seeded six tomato plant seeds into the ground in the garden, two in each hole. Condition 2: I scrimped up bits of wet paper towel into a cardboard egg carton container, stuck 5 seeds into the paper towel (1 in each hollow), and placed the egg carton into a sunny spot in the kitchen, and condition 3: I wet a paper towel, placed 6 seeds on half of it, folded it over, stuck the paper towel into a plastic ziplock, and placed it atop the microwave oven — filtered light but mostly dark, and off and on warmer than regular room temp. We’ll see what seems to work (if any do) in about 10 days! I’m thinking starting indoors may be more productive because of the number of kitty critters that traipse across the garden, especially in newly planted areas, and cause havoc with any directly planted seeds.

I’m planning to have a veggie-hamburger tonight for dinner and so cut two of the bigger outside leaves off my biggest lettuce plant. I also cut some parsley and set the sprigs in water so that I can add them into the eggplant with onions and rice dish I plan to try out tomorrow using my rice cooker. The two celery plants I’ve rooted from the grocery store are growing like gangbusters and I’m hoping that will continue — celery is dearly expensive here and the store-bought specimens are very thin and tough.

I got my Shabbat grocery shopping done for perishable necessities, though I need to do a major shopping trip at a super-cheap store very soon. It is hard to believe but it has been more than 6 months since I did the massive Rami Levi stock up and my ‘stock’ is now down to bare bones. I am down to the ‘last use’ of all the basic staples from laundry, hand, and dish washing stuff to rice and pasta.

How exciting the rest of my day has been (not) but I got the recycling done, my kitchen floor mopped, the bathroom cleaned and 4 of the cat boxes done. I also spent 4 hours grading papers. I plan to put in another four hours of grading and clean the rest of the litter boxes but I don’t think I’ll be up to lugging that litter down to the trash. I really did a number on my upper body muscles yesterday and they’ve gone from frick you to holding up strike signs. Tomorrow. This is definitely one Shabbat I can’t afford to take off.

6 responses to “entering Shabbat”

  1. Larry007 says :

    Yael, I buy online from Ramy Levy and they deliver at my home. You should check the website to see if they can deliver to your address.

    • israeliminx says :

      Hi Larry, I have checked them out for delivery (and they do) but the cost of delivery pretty much negates the savings from shopping there.

      • Larry007 says :

        Depends on how much you buy. I find out they are around 20 to 30% cheaper than other places. It’s very convenient, especially if you don’t have a car and not much time to spend in there.

    • tddpirate says :

      How is the cost of delivery compared to the cost of the time you spend on transportation there and back?

      • israeliminx says :

        Pirate — if you look at it as ‘time is money’ then delivery is definitely the better option. If you take into account how much actual money I have, then schlepping it myself works out far better.

  2. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, please check email.

Leave a Reply

