puzzler: why is the word for marigold in hebrew “declawed cat”?

I planted out several of the baby marigold plants that I bought but all day long I’ve been trying to figure out why the hebrew name for them (ציפורני-חתול) — re-translated into English as “declawed cat”– came into being. I just can’t wrap my mind around the logic of that…

I did a lot of digging today but not too much planting as of yet. I transplanted one of the baby tomato plants I’ve germinated from seed and put four of the leaf lettuce seedlings around it. I put two of the “declawed cats” along the border of that bed. Between the ‘cat with no claws’ flowers, I intend to plant basil. I’m hoping the declawed cat plants and basil will help the tomato and lone surviving sweet pepper plant that is being eaten practically to the stem by something and wasn’t helped by having it’s head lopped off by a weed-eater.

I harvested enough lettuce, parsley, and celery for a medium-sized salad, with the addition of half a store-bought tomato, for dinner tonight to go with some of the pasta-bake I made yesterday.

The garlic isn’t dead but I’m not sure how it will turn out. Nearly overnight new green shoots have shot up. I’m assuming this will mean smaller heads of garlic (if any heads) will be the result because the plants are putting energy into the shoots now and not into making more of the actual, edible, garlic. Well, we’ll see what happens come August. At least I’ve got some hope of those doing something.

5 responses to “puzzler: why is the word for marigold in hebrew “declawed cat”?”

  1. tddpirate says :

    Last time I pondered the literal meaning of ציפורני חתול, the term meant cat’s claws. In other words, the parts that remain after one declaws a cat and gets rid of the cat.

  2. Lynne says :

    I wondered if the name had reference to the fact that bugs and pests tend to avoid Marigolds since they have a strong and not so good smell. Marigolds are often used as companion plants— repellents in the garden. Cats do not like the smell of lime or lemon either.

  3. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, URGENT that you check your email and contact me. You have an OFFER on your house. Need answer within hours!

  4. Lynne says :

    YAELI, URGENT. ANOTHER OFFER ON THE HOUSE! Contact Lisa asap!!!!!

Leave a Reply

