Some garden photos

I took these earlier this week and thought I’d share so you can see how the garden I’m always nattering on about looks and how it will (hopefully) improve over the spring and summer 🙂

The first picture is a “before” picture of the triangle-shaped area next to our building. As you can see, it is pretty barren.
100_0001

This is just after (about 5 minutes after) I planted in one of the saved lavender plants (front), the Nana (mint) in the middle, and two impatiens in the very back (might need to squint). Right in front of the lavender I put in a patch of thyme seeds — in 2-3 weeks, we’ll see if any have sprouted up and, if so, when they get big enough I’ll transplant them about. I’m not sure the lavender is going to stay there — it really likes sunlight and I’m not sure it is going to get enough here. Although you don’t see it in the picture, the two impatien plants are now blooming like maniacs and have already gotten a bit bigger:

100_0009

This is the main veggie garden with the path I made. The bigger flagstones are the ones I snagged from the sidewalk building folks that they didn’t need. All the other bricks and rocks were dug out of the garden itself (no wonder not much grows in our yard!). It usually looks a lot more tidy –all those pots of things crammed in the front (except the two big, colourful planters that contain the baby lettuce) are what I pulled out and rescued from the destroyed front herb and flower garden. Most of them have now been re-planted elsewhere. The bed on the far left is what remains of the onions my Ema sent. In the areas just either side of the path were where I’d had my Rocket growing –utterly and completely destroyed by the landscapers. Now I’ve set the tomato, new lettuce, and parsley seedlings in their containers on the left-hand “Rocket” bed. In the back, you can see the two big celery plants I grew from root bases of celery I bought at the grocery store (the third one is still too small to show up in the photo), one of the hot pepper plants (the other much smaller one is hidden behind the celery), a yellow marigold, and four of the bigger leaf lettuce plants. The two stakes are where baby tomato seedlings are planted and there are 16 new lettuce seedlings planted around and between them. I plan to put two more tomato plants along that back fence and put cucumber plants between each tomato plant to climb the fence. There is more garden area off to the far right but it isn’t in the picture and will have more tomato and cucumber plants there.
100_0003
Here’s a close-up of one of the celery plants:
100_0004
This is the secondary veggie plot. The landscapers killed everything except the sweet pepper that I had growing there. Believe it or not, that stick-like sweet pepper plant is looking a whole lot better than it did last year — it gotten eaten by something down to the stem and only produced one little pepper. Now it is putting out new leaves and stems. Why the landscapers left it and not its happy and healthy brothers and sisters is beyond me. By the stake is a baby tomato and it is flanked by 6 baby lettuce seedlings (those sort of wet depression areas actually do have little plants in them). There will be another tomato, more cucumbers and a bunch of basil there (at least, that is the plan).
100_0006
This is what the front herb and flower garden now looks like after our lovely landscapers ‘landscaped.’ The rose bush in the front is the one I wrote about that was covered in a mass of blooms –see any flowers now?:
100_0008
Yeah, I had to dig down under that huge pile (which is still there) to try to rescue the herbs and flowers that had filled the space from the rose bush to the front wall.
And here is the little black ‘garden’ cat I write about often — the one whose owners’ abandoned her when they moved.
100_0002

10 responses to “Some garden photos”

  1. Lynne says :

    I LOVE the photos!! I hope that you don’t have any other interference with your garden. I’ll send more rocket seeds.

    • israeliminx says :

      Ema, I wish I’d taken pictures of the garden before it got destroyed. It looks like a barren wasteland now and not at all like the lush and thriving thing it was. The rocket had been within a week or two of harvesting and as you can see, they ripped it out down to the bare dirt :(. I’ve still got some rocket seeds but I’m thinking it is already too hot to start them until the fall. If you can get your hands on some “Perpetual spinach” (aka spinach chard/Beta vulgaris ssp cicla), New Zealand spinach (akaTetragonia tetragonoides) or Collard greens, those are all salady things that can grow in the heat of very hot summers.

      Starting nearly anew has its possibilities and it will be fun to photo the development as things start to grow.

  2. Mike says :

    Man, it just snowed here last night. I like snow, but I’m ready for some nice weather.

  3. Mac says :

    Looks like it is back to taking shape. I hope it prospers for you!

  4. israeliminx says :

    Snow! Jimeny Cricket!

    Mac many thanks! It is starting to take shape again, slowly. For next year I am a) going to have a little chat with the vad and b) start a lot more things in flats rather than direct-sowing until all danger of incompetent landscapers has passed.

  5. Nicole says :

    Your other option (if you can be bothered) is to find out how much they pay the landscapers, and then offer to do it yourself in return for not paying that same amount to the vaad. e.g. if the landscapers are paid 100 shekels a month to work one day each month, then you do the work instead and pay the vaad costs minus 100 shekels a month.
    this is fairly common practice in apartment buildings where there is someone who likes to look after the garden and has time to do it, and also wants to save money on vaad fees…

  6. Sylvia says :

    I hope it all thrives and flourishes in the spring.
    By the way, did you know that impatiens (we have a lot of it in our own garden here in Australia, where it has ‘gotten away’) is also called ‘Busy Lizzie’? At least, it is called that here.

    • Lynne says :

      Sylvia, do impatiens grow well in Australia? It’s so dry here in Austin that we really have to pamper them to grow them here. I had never heard the name “Busy Lizzie” —how cute!

  7. israeliminx says :

    Busy Lizzie, I love it! The little garden is already starting to perk up again. I set out some more of the tomato seedlings from the cups I’ve been growing them in (the volunteers are so much bigger and healthier than the ones I started from seed that so far I’ve planted three of those and only one of the cherry tomatoes. I’ve no idea what kind of tomato those volunteers might produce! It will be a surprise!). The thyme seedlings came up in the patch I planted them but so far none of the lobelia seeds have sprouted. I’m thinking of trying squash and cucumbers in that front garden area where they piled all debris from the yard and killed all the perennial herbs and flowers I’d planted there. The lettuce seedlings are really taking off now that they are in the ground. I just wish I had more compost 😦 I’ll post up pictures again in about a week 🙂

Leave a Reply

