getting the daylight savings time groove on

Today I really noticed a lift in my spirits. My eye is nearly healed and this morning I took the last bomber pill of antibiotic so the nausea and tired feeling that always goes with taking a hulking whack of the stuff is coming to an end. I napped this morning until, well, this afternoon, snuggled up with Little Mouse (this means, of course, that Little Mouse is not feeling well — he wants to sleep on me a lot when his mouth starts to get really bad) until 1 p.m. Then I did my most important catch-up work that I’ve not really been able to do much of over the holiday because of the eye. The daylight savings time that kicked in last Friday is strongly responsible for my happy mood. I didn’t actually realize it was clock change time until yesterday so today is my first wow, look at all that sun and look at the time! experience this year. Yeah!!!!!!!!

Out in the garden, two of the tomato plants have nearly doubled in size literally overnight. The hot pepper plant is covered in flowers (7 of the delicate bell-shaped white beauties are decorating it). I discovered that some of the peppermint mint has survived the landscapers. The sweet pepper plant is no longer looking like a stick (but something is munching on those new leaves and I’ve got to figure out what to plant around it to help repel the munchers) and it looks like I might have a couple of lobelia seedlings sprouting up, though it is too early to tell if that is what they are.

I’m thinking I might splurge 30 sheks on flowers for the yard tomorrow. I can get more baby impatien plants for 1.80 sheks each to brighten up the dappled-sun area of our front garden (the area where thieves ripped off our established big plants and so it looks particularly desolate), and a few more marigolds to put in the veggie garden as they are great bad-insect warding off plants, as well as being pretty (though stinky). The Minx cannot live by food alone and flowers and a pretty yard are food for the soul 🙂 I’m also thinking of putting a little ‘donate’ box to see if any of the appreciative neighbours are appreciative enough to cough up a couple of sheks to defray the cost of the flowers.

5 responses to “getting the daylight savings time groove on”

  1. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    Throwing stones DO kill Israelis. Read “Conviction in Terror Murder of Father and Son” at http://www.israelnationalnews.com/News/News.aspx/166701#.UVr9DVeQP54

  2. chairwoman says :

    If you find your munchers are crawlers rather than fliers,go for gravel round the stems. That should keep the evil little thieves away.

  3. Lynne says :

    Good ideas for your garden. Impatients need lots of water, and watering them deeply for them to survive. Keep that in mind wherever you plant them. Good news about your eye. Follow up with your dermatologist though as soon as you can.

  4. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, check email.

  5. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    Here is an interesting video on the Palestinians.
    See “The mythical Palestinians” at http://www.wnd.com/2013/04/the-mythical-palestinians/

Leave a Reply

