hot peppers!

Tomorrow I plan to do some major garden work as today I only had time to go out and water the plants. There was just a little light left to see by and yet something caught my eye. Could it be? A closer look and yes, YES, there are 4 little hot peppers starting on the bigger of the two hot pepper plants and it is still blooming like crazy. Last year, from the 3 pepper plants that didn’t get eaten to death, I got one hot pepper and one teeny tiny sweet pepper. This year, I’ve got 3 hot pepper plants (two were moved in the fall from their last-summer locations to spots that seemed like they might get less munched on and that has certainly been the case and I got a new one sprouted from seed). I’ve only the one sweet pepper plant but it is lushing out, even though in its original location. It could be that the pepper-devouring bugs don’t come out until summer, so we’ll have to see what happens. I definitely need to get more sweet pepper plants started though and soon (as in, tomorrow).

I’m really curious about the volunteer tomato plants. I’ve no idea what kind they are –are they super healthy cherries from the tomatoes I grew last summer or are they slicing tomatoes? Are they determinants or indeterminants? I really hope it is the latter as that means they will keep producing. Determinants set all the fruit they are going to set in a period of about 3 weeks and then that is all she wrote for them. My plan tomorrow is to find and prepare spots around the yard for the 7 or 8 seedlings I’ve got in pots (and maybe even for a few of the new volunteers that just keep springing up in the garden) and get them transplanted. The eight that are already in the ground (where I put them) are all doing between small but ok (the new cherry ones I started from seed this spring) to growing like gangbusters (the volunteers I transplanted).

When I go to the store tomorrow morning, I’m going to pick up an eggplant (aubergine). I not only want to eat it, I want it’s seeds! The garden center got in their new ‘for summer’ seeds and not an eggplant packet among them. One of my students was like, why don’t you try growing them from a store-bought eggplant fruit? She grew up on a moshav and her mother started all their garden eggplants from the seeds out of ones from the store. So tonight I’m researching the best eggplant to use (one that is small and firm and at its most tasty –meaning immature– or one that is big and getting mushy (my money is on this)?) and the best way to do this!

Leave a Reply

