Remembering some of the fallen

This year, I thought I’d focus on some of the individuals for Yom HaZikaron, our Memorial Day for our soldiers who fell in service to the country and our civilians killed in terrorist attacks. Today is a day of deep sadness here. Our radio stations play no happy songs. Our TV stations play only coverage of the life and stories of the soldiers and civilians who have fallen. There are no barbeques or shopping sprees like Memorial Day in the U.S. –it is not a holiday for frivolity and fun. Frivolity and fun will come in a jarring transition that no one ever really gets used to here, starting tonight at the conclusion of Yom HaZikaron and the start of our Independence Day (Yom HaAtzma’ut). Until then, we remember. Below I share with you a couple of the short vignettes typical of what we watch all day today (most are not exactly typical as I tried to find things as close as possible with either English or English subtitles):

Crying for Ziv:

He died defending our country:

A hero’s story: The Second Lebanon War

12 Years since the terrorist attack at the Dolphinarian teen club, that killed 21 children and injured 160 more:

The Fogel family:

4 responses to “Remembering some of the fallen”

  1. SirJohn says :

    The dolphinarium attack was a turning point for me. I remember it still as if it happened yesterday, it was the first day in our new home in Manhattan, we had just moved. I was glued to the TV, saddened with the brutal news. Not knowing that it would not be many years later I would see the same thing on the streets of my own home town, it changed my perspective on the whole Israel issue.

    Like so many I had been brainwashed by my liberal professors, the media etc. into believing that the IDF mainly consisted of baby-killers and that Israel’s raison d’etat consisted of oppressing poor innocent palestinians.

    Yes, I shamefully admit, I should have known better. But the dolphinarium attack opened my eyes and made this gentile an ardent supporter of Israel and her right to a peaceful existence.

    • Lynne says :

      Sir John, I was totally brainwashed by my liberal professors in every respect. They were at the core very anti-American. That view permeated every topic that we studied. I admired them and I believe them, though I was horrified by my new view of my country—and as I have written here before, it was only when I began doing research for my favorite professor on the “evils of capitalism and how the middle class was falling into homelessness, etc.” that I began to think for myself. Try as I might, I could not find the homeless population that he and other professors were describing: Suzy Homemaker and her family, formerly successful Joe and Bill all now homeless due to the evils of our American system. It is true that many people can fall on hard times, but the homeless population is a separate, distinct group with its own issues (hey, we have no functional mental health system!). I took a good look at the communist countries that they so admired…. The US is far from perfect, but so are the liberal view of it and their proposed solutions to make it better.

    • tddpirate says :

      Lynne, what you wrote reminds me of the recent posthumous hate exhibited toward Margaret Thatcher after her death.
      People accuse her of making thousands of people poor. They ignore the fact that if it were not her policies, millions would have been poor.

  2. israeliminx says :

    Lynne — I remember when you were doing that project. One of the things that stayed with me was when you found that a lot of the homeless didn’t have to be homeless –many of them had government funded apartments or group homes they could live in but, because of their mental issues, they refused or stayed in them only briefly before abandoning them and preferred to stay on the streets. You are right, the vast majority of the people who are homeless are homeless because they are nuts and not because they’ve lost their jobs and homes to foreclosure. There are exceptions of course — there is one county in Florida where 40% of the school children are homeless after the major industry that was there shut down and their parents, unable to find other jobs, lost their homes but that is an exception.

Leave a Reply

