Raining like gangbusters, electricity mostly off

I really shouldn’t have planted those lettuce seeds the other day…It is not raining, it is a gully-washer! Our electricity has been on today for about 45 minutes but those 45 minutes have been spread out over like four hours. Lightning, thunder, and pounding rain is besieging us.

I’ve not got much hope for the new teeny little thyme seedlings I planted out around the Queen Rose Herself, as I like to call our most productive rose bush that puts out blooms in waves that are all a brilliant orange colour, then a wave of pink and currently a mix of orange and pink, without seeming to pause for breath. I went out and took a brief look at the only part of the garden I could see without risking getting hit by lightning and getting soaking wet and it looked like Niagara Falls was descending on the exact spot I planted those thyme seedlings. I guess it is a good thing that I’ve got about 100 more sprouting in a spot where the rain never falls.

I’ve got a lot to say today if the electricity will allow. First though, I’m going to take advantage of it being back on to try to continue cooking my lunch…

3 responses to “Raining like gangbusters, electricity mostly off”

  1. tddpirate says :

    “I’ve got about 100 more sprouting in a spot where the rain never falls”
    Some dirty minds would start measuring distances between the above spot and the spot where the sun never shines.

    (Turtle club disclaimer: about 70cm or so in sunny days. Longer when it does rain.)

  2. israeliminx says :

    Pirate, I’m not even going to ask for an explanation of that. I’d prefer my mind to be clean and my hands to be dirty in garden soil.

  3. Lynne says :

    The old saying is that you have to take the bad with the good; at least you got rain! That will be good for what is growing but I fear the seeds are washed out.

Leave a Reply

