Ema I got the seeds!!

Walla! I’ve been haunting my mailbox ever since my Ema said she’d sent some seeds and stuff. The stuff is some awesome spices that I can’t get here and that she got from Central Market in Austin. The seeds … oh my. I am going to be planting collard greens come September. I cannot tell you how much I have been craving these greens. I’m a southern girl and so cannot live without them and have any sort of balance to my world. I’m salivating just at the thought of cooking some up and this is, for sure, the first time in my life I’m looking forward to summer being over. Yeah, I know, it hasn’t started yet, but my desire to be eating some collards is so strong that I wish it were next November or December like right now if not yesterday. And now I will be doing the happy Collard dance when fall rolls around!!!!

I’ve now got way better Rocket (arugula) seeds than you can buy here. Not only is there more than double the number of seeds in this packet but it is an extra zesty variety (yo, a variety!) and specially cultivated to grow in warmer than average climates.

The other little inclusion that has me almost as over the moon as the collard green seeds are the perennial black=eyed Susan seeds. Flowers. Perennial. Blooming in the Fall. Growing in light shade and in full sun. I’m seriously in love. You know what I am planting tomorrow morning! Ema thank you!!!!!!

5 responses to “Ema I got the seeds!!”

  1. Lynne says :

    Okra seeds are on the way! Okra, a native plant from Africa, is related to the Hibiscus plant, a beautiful plant with strikingly vivid flowers (comes in many colors). The okra flower is very pretty, too, and shaped much the same. It’s a large flower, usually white with a purple center. Plant lots of the seeds; you won’t be disappointed in the okra or the flower show. I’ll send you a good recipe for picked okra, and you can stretch your harvest into Winter.

    • israeliminx says :

      Yo, I’m over the moon. I LOVE pickled okra. I love okra in roux and stir-fried and just steamed. I have only found the frozen version here and a teeny little bag of it is insanely expensive. Back to haunting the mailbox. Love you Ema!!!

  2. Lynne says :

    Breaking news: CNN reporting that the US believes that Israel carried out an air attack on Syria…

Leave a Reply

