Not in the last decade… RAIN

Let’s file this under “never in Israel.” I’ve been here for nearly a decade and never, not ever, have I had rain in my garden in Mid-May but tonight we are getting rain! We are getting rain, lightning and thunder …and so I’m expecting the internet to go out any minute.

Here’s the skinny on the garden. There are close to 20 developing tomatoes on the tomato plants and at least two of those ‘volunteers’ are producing slicing tomatoes (big clue is that at least one of the green ones is already bigger than a cherry). I suspect the rest of the sturdy volunteers will do likewise. This also means that these are most likely determinate tomatoes (most grown for selling as store-bought are). This also means I need to buy and start immediately some more indeterminate tomato seeds or I’ll have precious few tomatoes come the fall. I don’t expect toms of any sort come mid-summer as it is just too darn hot here for them to set…then again, I never expected rain in mid-May…

7 responses to “Not in the last decade… RAIN”

  1. Lynne says :

    I’m just sending you two kinds of seeds: Okra from Seed Savers, an heirloom type that has been grown in Israel in past history and a package of a type of Spinach from India that LOVES HEAT. Look for a package from me soon. I’m sending it out in a moment 🙂

  2. israeliminx says :

    Ema you are so beyond awesome!!!!!

  3. Tiger Mike says :

    I just looked up the forcast for Israel. Its supposed to be raining for the next four days up north. I saw its even raining in Elat! This is good!!!

    BTW, as of late July, I’ll no longer be flying internationally (at least not for a year or two). I’m moving to a new aircraft. I’ll be only the 8th one trained on the new aircraft at my company.

    • Lynne says :

      Tiger Mike, do you like the new aircraft that you would be flying? Are you pleased with this change?

      • Tiger Mike says :

        It was my choice. The international flying is killing me. And this move is setting me up for something I want to do in the future.

        • Lynne says :

          Tiger Mike, then I am very happy that you are getting this change. I can just imagine the stress and fatigue that the punishing international flight schedules do to a pilot. It’s hard enough just being a passenger. So very glad that this opportunity has opened up for you!!!

  4. israeliminx says :

    That rocks Tiger Mike! I have never understood how pilots manage international flights — it takes me days to get over one, not just with the jet lag but I swell up like a balloon with water retention on long flights.

Leave a Reply

