chile peppers galore

The pepper plants are simply dripping hot peppers! They are hanging off every conceiveable spot on the plants, just literally covering them. I’d read that pepper plants give their best harvest in their second and third years and now I believe it. Last summer I got only one measly little hot pepper from the three plants combined and one tiny, stunted and deformed sweet pepper. The sweet pepper plant has got 4 peppers on it.

I think I’m going to have to harvest all the lettuce plants tomorrow. It is just getting too hot for them. The dahlias and the aubergine plants I got in the ground only a few days ago are already twice the size of the compatriots that are still in their flats. I’ve got to find somewhere in the yard to put 8 more eggplants, heh.

On my way home from work I stopped at the little corner store and the manager was like, oh we saved a box of veggies for you! I brought home a whole box of peppers (only one was still good for eating, the others starting to get wrinkly and so went into the compost), and cucumbers and more than half of the cucumbers are still in prime condition. I’ll eat the prime ones and compost the others. They’d only just pulled them off the shelf where people had been buying them minutes before. I chopped up the pepper, three of the cucumbers, added some cherry tomatoes and green olives and had a really nice snack on them. I wish I could find canning jars because these cucumbers would make some very nice pickles and relish.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I harvested the potatoes. I can use the plural as there were two of them: each about the size of a golf ball. Heh.

Leave a Reply

