made my day

My phone rang a few minutes ago and I didn’t recognize the number. It was a student of mine who graduated several years ago and she just called to keep in touch and because she was thinking about me. When I recognized who it was on the other end, I was expecting a request to come along to write a letter of recommendation for a job or for grad school, and I’m always happy to do so of course!, but no. She said she thinks about me and uses the things that I taught from the various psych classes a lot (I remember that Yael said in class that people are probably acting like this because…) and that I was the best teacher she ever had, being not just a teacher but a mentor who had really touched her life and she didn’t want to lose touch. I got to hear about the garden she’s started and all the other exciting things she’s been up to in the last couple of years. I learned from my mother that imparting knowledge is only part of making a good teacher and only part of a good teacher’s role. Today, I feel like I done did good, as folks in the South say.

10 responses to “made my day”

  1. Lynne says :

    A true teacher realizes this, and the students benefit. When I was a learning strategies instructor, teaching teachers how to teach, I too often heard teacher’s talk about students missing “the teacher’s work” and everything from the teacher’s point of view. It is the students’ work and it’s the students’ needs that should be the focus of teaching, and when that happens, it becomes the best kind of teacher-student relationship and a very successful learning experience for the student. Of course, it’s a two-way street and the students must be motivated, too. You were surely successful in your goal to help your students!

  2. tddpirate says :

    [in-lieu-of-a-like-button]
    LIKE!
    [/in-lieu-of-a-like-button]

  3. israeliminx says :

    Ema, well if I had success it is really all down to you as you led by example at home and in your classrooms and in just everyday life. I am seriously a paper-thin copy.

    Pirate — 🙂 We should get together over sushi. It has been more than a year since I’ve seen you or sushi and it is just darn time for both.

  4. Mac says :

    That just had to make you smile from ear to ear!

  5. Mike says :

    This post made me smile. Glad you had such a good day. You should be proud of what you have done in general and also for this particular student.

  6. israeliminx says :

    Mac and Mike — You know, it really did make me feel good! So much of the time I feel like I am the teacher or adult in a Charlie Brown cartoon (waaahh wah waah wahhh wah wah). It is good to know that for some of those kids the whaaa wha’s had actual meaning and that my interactions with them were more than about what grade went on their transcript and that I was actually doing something to make a difference in peoples’ lives.

  7. Jake from Philly says :

    Yes, you done did good — and so did your Ema!

  8. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, check email.

Leave a Reply

