getting ready for major life changes

So it is decided. I’m going to give up my current career and move to Texas next June to take on the care of my mother’s critters, along with mine, and most importantly, to be there to help my Ema. I’ve got a lot to do between now and then.

I’ve got to locate a rural property that is under $30,000, at least half an acre, and has an abode of some sort that is at least habitable.

I’ve got to arrange to put into storage here my bed, sofa frame, three matching cedar chests, and the best bookcase I’ve ever owned. These are things that would be difficult to impossible to replace and that I cherish. I’ve got some china, holiday, and other kitcheny things from my time in Germany, France and England and some things from my Grandmother that I also don’t want to lose and so they will go into storage as well.

I need to pare down my wardrobe to fit into two suitcases and pare down my zillions of books to no more than a couple of boxes for storage here and maybe a box of my most often go-to reads to mail to the States –ones that I won’t be able to get in a library or elsewhere. I’m not sure it would be worth the expense though because books are heavy and they no longer have book rates. Pretty much everything else, from all the childhood crap I’ve been carrying around with me since childhood, to the 1000 plus dvd collection, all other furniture, and miscellaneous stuff I’ve collected over a lifetime has got to be sorted and cleaned and then donated, recycled or simply tossed. This is going to take me the better part of 9 months. I want to watch those movies one more time, for one thing, heh.

Scary but exciting too. I like challenges. It is time for the sanctuary interlude.

12 responses to “getting ready for major life changes”

  1. Esty, in Givatayim says :

    Hi Yael

    About six years ago, when you still lived in north Dizengoff, you gave me and my husband a little black cat. That cat is still here and still black, though not so little any more, and she rules the house and garden like a real princess.
    Ever since then I have been following your blog, on and off, reading about your life in Israel and admiring your spirit, energy, and all the good you done in Israel during those years.

    I’m sorry about Lynne’s ill health, she sounds like such a terrific lady, I hope she will beat the cancer and live many more years in good health.
    I’m also sorry about your impending departure from Israel, but of course it is right and good to go and be with your mum at a time like this.
    I will still be reading your blog quietly from here, and I wish you, Lynne and your 30-odd combined cats lots of happiness, wherever you are.

    • israeliminx says :

      Etsy!!!! I am so glad to hear from you! I am so glad to hear how the little princess is doing (for interested readers, there should be some pictures in the old olehgirl archives of her as a baby — I called her Minx back then). You guys have given her a wonderful loving home and it is so good to hear that she is thriving as a big six year year old now! Sending love and hugs to you all!!

  2. Erin says :

    I really hope that you will keep on blogging. I have tons of questions I want to ask you about Aliyah and becoming a teacher in Israel. Where will all you cats go when you leave for Texas

    • israeliminx says :

      Erin they will be Israeli kitties in exile along with the Israeliminx. They are going to be joining a kitty Brady Bunch family on steroids. I’ve been thinking of giving us a theme song — maybe something like

      There’s a story, of a lovely lady, who was living with 13 cats of her own,
      All of them had fur of different colours, and they were all alone.
      Then one day, there was an Israeli invasion of 18 IDF-loving cats
      The kitties joined together to form a kibbutz and became 31 cats strong.

  3. Tiger Mike says :

    So, your going to leave Israel about the time I’m arriving. Sad. But I’m sure your mother needs you.

    • israeliminx says :

      Tiger Mike, I am so hoping there will be some overlap so I can help you get settled in! Even if I have to leave before you arrive, I will do everything I can to help you guys before and after. I had such a wonderful supportive network of people here helping me when I arrived (and have such an awesome network of friends here now). You guys are going to love living here. Even with all the bureaucracy, funky opening hours of banks and govt offices, insane neighbours launching missile attacks etc., there is simply no place better on earth to live than here. Having lived a ton of places, I can say this with certainty.

      • Tiger Mike says :

        I have already learned a lot from you about living in Israel. Reading this blog and walking around Tel Aviv with you have been an invaluable education. But I can still see myself calling you from J town saying “such and such happened! What do we do?!!??!”

        I am at a midwestern university right now. We are dropping our youngers daughter off today to begin university. So, with all the children out of the house, we can start our serious preparations for Aliyah.

        I have to brag on my daughter. She got her pilots license two days ago

        May Hashem bless your mother (and you!) with renewed health!

  4. dkaplan73 says :

    Sorry to hear your mom is sick. Though I haven’t participated much lately… I have been checking in on you via your blog over the years. I guess I missed the mom having cancer thing. I hope Lynne is okay.

    Good luck Yaeli. Though we didn’t always agree on everything, I always felt an ideological kinship with you. I do hope you continue to blog when time permits.

    David K from Philly

    • israeliminx says :

      David, I haven’t talked about it too much because splashing my life across the Internet is one thing but splashing other people’s is another and my Ema is a very private person. I am getting ready to start being very vocal about a lot of things related, however, such as the U.S. refusing to approve a vaccine for follicular lymphoma that has had amazing success in all the clinical trials with no negative side effects, no deaths or anything of that sort related to it. It passed all the trial hurdles that are generally required for FDA approval but they’ve slapped an additional set of trial requirements on it that will take years to complete and that have caused the company producing it to go into bankruptcy. The good news is that it looks like both Canada and the EU will approve and make it available for treatment later this year or early next year — yes, we will be taking my Ema abroad to be a medical tourist to get it.

  5. Mike says :

    If you ever make it up to the great Pacific Northwest, you have a place to stay. My daughter’s angling for a cat, so we will have one to go with our rather large dog, which should make you feel at home.

  6. Jake from Philly says :

    Wow, what a big change! I wish you and Lynne all the best.

    • Lynne says :

      Jake, it’s the sanctuary and also my health that are driving the change. I am hoping that we can figure out a way for Yaeli to live in Israel part of the year, too. I just got a darling little black and white cat (very small and skinny like most Israeli cats) that Yaeli brought when she visited this summer. She has a cloudy eye (blind in that eye) but is healthy otherwise and with personality plus. She runs in circles when she sees a friendly face. I hope that we can find a forever home for her, so if you know anyone who is looking for a cute pet, I can get her to them. Of course, I am working with my vet here to try to find her a home, so I may find someone local soon.
      It’s good to hear from you. Hope that all is well there!

Leave a Reply

