weather shift brings on my annual summer cold

On Thursday and Friday the cats were running about the place like lunatics with the change in barometric pressure bringing us some cooler temperatures, though it is starting to heat back up today it feels like but that might just be the low-grade fever I’m running. One thing the cooler couple of days did was to make the hot flashes I experience stand out. When you are already really really really hot you almost don’t notice you are having a hot flash. When you go from being pleasantly cool to spontaneous combustion, it really stands out. Very annoying.

The other thing the weather shift did was to bring on a summer cold. Yesterday I felt like I’d been hit by a truck. (Today I feel like the truck ran over me a second time.) I’d had big planting plans for the garden, a lot of grading planned, cleaning and organizing and tossing/donating of stuff but I spent most of yesterday sacked out on the couch with several cats perched on me. Exhausted, achey, with a blinding headache and sore throat and cough starting. I did manage to sort through three boxes of my books and carry out for donation about 60 of them and 10 dvd movies. The rest of the books are now strewn across my living room floor. They had been in some nice neat stacks waiting for me to get a new box to put them in but the cats seemed to think they made perfect perching and jumping on and off of places and so now…oy.

The cold has gone into my ears and so my balance is quite off today. I’m going to mostly rest until I have to go into Tel Aviv this afternoon for a student meeting. I’ve canceled the tutoring sessions I’d scheduled for this evening and tomorrow.

2 responses to “weather shift brings on my annual summer cold”

  1. Lynne says :

    Go to the doctor to get something for symptoms, if for no other reason. You may need an antibiotic if it is bacterial. Hope that you feel better soon!

  2. Erin Rawls says :

    Ha…I can just picture you being covered in cats on the couch. I am sure whenever you coughed they gave you the feline hairy eyeball too for moving. Vlad, my cat, likes to sit on my face the minute my dog (61 pounds of hounds and catahoula craziness) goes outside. He always gets perturbed that I have to move him so i can breathe. LOL. Take care of yourself and I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

