spew

So yesterday I made up a big pitcher of southern sweet tea in anticipation of just how parched I’d be by the end of the 24 hour fast. After all, having pushed small children in strollers and on bikes with training wheels up and down steep hills in the middle of the day for several hours and then chased around them in an amazing playground (why did we not have playgrounds and play equipment like this when I was a kid?!) is a very dehydrating experience when put on top of the regular dehydrating experience of no food or water. With their Ema working on baby five, I was the official chase-after and keep from killing thyself minder of four mobile kids under the age of 6 and all going in different directions at once and constantly (and who knew that a three year old could run so fast?). I did get some great pictures though.

On returning from this very fun but exhausting outing, I headed for the kitchen and started the tea. I heated the kumkum, put out the tea bags in the brewing pot, snatched out the bag of sugar from the fridge and poured in a copious amount, and then as soon as the kumkum clicked off, poured on the hot water. I let it steep for two hours and then poured the delicious and wet stuff into a glass pitcher and stowed it in the fridge to cure and get deliciously cold and inviting. It needs to sit in the fridge for at least 8 hours to start getting the prime taste and 24 is better.

After breaking the fast, the usual “ok, you consumed food and now you are going comatose” experience of crashing fatigue was upon me. I crashed out from 10 until 2, when I woke up with a powerful thirst. I stumbled into the kitchen, grabbed out that pitcher of delicious looking golden brown liquid, poured myself a HUGE glass, took a HUGE gulp and spewed but not before half or more managed to slide down my throat. Holy What The Hell?!!!

I’d not brewed up a nice batch of sweet tea but a very not nice batch of SALT tea. Like an entire cup of salt put into that tea.

The sugar and salt, in virtually identical packaging save for the words on the bags, both reside in my fridge. Both are in folded down, more than half-used condition. I usually store the salt in the cheese drawer and the sugar floats about from shelf to shelf depending on where there is room at any given time. I refilled the salt shaker last Thursday and forgot that I’d simply shoved the bag onto a convenient shelf when the phone rang and forgot to go back and tuck it into the cheese drawer. I will never make that particular mistake again.

Jimeny Cricket!

5 responses to “spew”

  1. tddpirate says :

    The classical childish April 1st prank. 😀
    (Yes, I was one of those infantiles when I was young.)

  2. Lynne says :

    Put your sugar in a marked cannister! Ick.

  3. Lynne says :

    Ooops…. that should be “Canister”.

  4. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    An interesting article on the US financial debt.
    “National Debt Interest Payments Dwarf Other Government Spending” at http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2012/11/19/how-the-nations-interest-spending-stacks-up
    Taxpayers spend $220B per year paying off interest on the national debt and by 2020, the number will reach $ 1 TRILLION a year on interests alone!!

  5. Tiger Mike says :

    Southern Ice Tea. 1 pint tea to 5 pounds of sugar. And don’t brew the tea with water from the Dead Sea.

Leave a Reply

