just me

While the world goes to hell in a handcart with Obamacare and Iran is our Friend advertisements on its sides, my day kinda went to …not hell… but stupor. I got up really early this morning with a list of stuff to get done as long as my arm. I rocked out in the early morning hours, slicing the list off up to the wrist.

I fed the outside kitties (I’ve got to catch the two garden babies in the next two weeks, get them spayed, and bring them inside), mopped and cleaned Tovi’s room and changed out her litter, and changed out 8 of the 9 litterboxes for the rest of the cats. I got the floor rug washed and two loads of laundry done. I recycled. I washed, sorted, and donated half of my tupperware containers, and mopped the kitchen, living room, bathroom and toilet room. I changed the sheets on the bed and changed the sofa coverings. Yesterday I’d sorted tons of papers and recycled two big (lawn leaf size) bags and today I managed to sort a bit more, recycling a small grocery bag worth, and organizing the keepers to get more organized later. Ahem.

Then the kiddo I was set to tutor late this afternoon called and cancelled. I was happy because that would give me more time to get stuff on my list done. I was extremely happy when I was able to sit cross-legged on my sofa for almost two straight hours without pain and get some grading done. This was actually pretty huge. The doctor had told me that what I needed to do was essentially no-sit, lay down rest for a month and perhaps more and not to sit for more than 15 minutes at a time if I really have to sit, not to push things and let pain be my guide. Obviously, with working, that whole lay down all the time thing hasn’t been possible but I have been laying down or standing/crouching/kneeling but not sitting as much as humanly possible. Last Monday-Wednesday were pretty brutal, both because work required that I needed to sit, and sit in a non-ok position, for way more time than I should have and needed to be on my feet standing or walking for more then 12 hours each day. I went almost 100% prone Thursday-yesterday (Thursday was non optional because I was so exhausted) and today the benefits of having done so were like a hallelujah moment.

Then, at 3:30 I paused my get stuff done mode and fixed two small baked potatoes with butter, salt, and levanah (kinda like sour cream) and…that was that. I don’t know if it was the potatoes that I ate in a reclining pose (Pesach in November!) or the Carl Sagan audiobook I put on to both entertain myself and try to learn something while I ate but I went out like a light. I slept for 6 hours straight and woke up convinced it was morning. I’ve got another load of laundry going, I’m hungry again, and after I eat something I’m going to go back to bed because I’ve got the Monday-Wednesday marathon coming up again.

2 responses to “just me”

  1. Erin Rawls says :

    Glad you had a good and pretty painless day!

  2. Lynne says :

    Your day was very productive. No wonder you were sleepy!

Leave a Reply

