One incredibly smart blind cat

For more than a year now, twice a day I open a tin of wet food and shut Little Mouse and the food in the toilet room together as the wild, jealous herd of other cats crouch outside the door. They mill, cry plaintively, and scratch at the door. After about 15 minutes, I grab Mischa and wade through the crowd of cats to open the door a crack and stuff him through so that he can eat the approximately half can that Mousie always leaves behind. He only needs about 2 minutes of private time with the food before he’s scarfed it all down. When Little Mouse’s gums get really bad between his steroid shots, I do this 3 and sometimes 4 times a day, depending on how much he can tolerate getting down and usually he only eats the juice around the food itself at that point.

In the last 2 weeks or so, however, the door has popped open after only 5 or so minutes of Mousie being shut in there. I’ll look up to see Mousie strolling across the living room floor and groan, knowing that Batya, Muffin, and Flossie at least are in there scarfing the food meant for Mischa and thinking they’d also chased the little blind Mouse away from his food. One of my cats clearly discovered how to jump up and hit the door handle to get the door open. From the outside, hitting the handle and with the press of the cats clustered outside the door would make it open quite easily.

I’ve just finished putting Mousie in with the fifth can of food today because the door was opened so quickly after getting him in there each time. This time I played goalie on the outside to keep whichever of my clever cats had learned this trick at bay. Pop, paw emerged, door opened a crack and out came Little Mouse. Never, in my wildest dreams, did I imagine it was the blind cat who figured this out. Never did I think it was not only the blind cat but the blind cat opening it from inside the room –a much trickier trick to be sure.

Mousie may be blind as a bat but he clearly has Batcat skills. My little kitty superhero is too smart by half!

4 responses to “One incredibly smart blind cat”

  1. Lynne says :

    That is rather amazing! Can Little Mousie take oral (liquid) medication? That worked well my cat Mattie when she had stomatitis. You might ask. I used to be able to get away with putting it in her food. She had the injection to get her in shape and then as she was eating each day, I could put the medication in her food. You might try that.

  2. Erin Rawls says :

    HA! That is hilarious. Vlad (yes, my cat is named after a vampire because he bites), is also quite stealthy in his daily life. He has asthma and is allergic to a lot of things, including vaccines, so i spend an inordinate amount of money on hyperallergenic foods and benedryl injections as well as steroid injections. Vlad’s latest and greatest move is to hide in the cabinets above my fridge and wait for an opportunity to perch on the top of the fridge and scare the crap outta me when i am least expecting it. Ah, cats. Gotta love em. As far as the meds go, before i found the best.vet.ever. who talked me into long acting steroids vs. daily pills, i found a video on you tube where the owner would crush up his cat’s meds into stage one baby food and then wiped it on the side of his cat’s face so when kitty cleaned himself VIOLA! meds ingested. Do you think batcat would eat that? Its pretty much gravy consistency so it would go easy on his toofers:)

    • Lynne says :

      Erin, the baby food meat is a great idea. Most cats like it and will eat it when they will eat nothing else, and it’s soft and easily digestible. A good food, probably the best, for sick cats.
      Your cat sounds like a character! He is very lucky to have you taking care of him.

  3. Shimona from the Palace says :

    That’s amazing! My own cats have figured out how to switch on the overhead lamp above my bed, and how to open the rather heavy sliding windows in my living room (working together). I also had a cat once who discovered how to open the refrigerator door – I was forced to attach an anti-child lock.

Leave a Reply

