darn, no lawyer’s name

I went to my bank and my extremely sweet and helpful bank assistant printed out the 7 months of banking activity I needed and combed through it trying to identify checks that might have been made to either the lawyer or the crazy criminal real estate people or their agent on the lam. Unfortunately, the statements only list the day and the amount of the check cashed and she has to order copies of the pictures of the cashed checks. That is going to take two weeks, even with the rush order she put on it. She gave me a statement to present to the court noting that copies of the suspect checks have been ordered by the bank but have not yet arrived. She also sent a copy of my statements to my email so that I can print them out tomorrow at work and go through them again. If I see anything else that she might have missed, she will make sure they are ordered at no extra charge. I have been so lucky to have really wonderful and caring bank assistants assigned to me, and she is by far my favourite.

Tomorrow is going to be a day from hell. I teach from 8:30 until 6:30 but have a moed bet exam to proctor that starts at 5:30 until 10:30 and have to figure out some sort of video to insert in the lecture so that I can dash out to answer questions of the kids taking the exam.

I was really surprised to find the amount of money in my account and then realized that food, litter etc just for 3 inside cats and the handful of outside cat (including Shachorla) is massively cheaper than when it was 20 plus the outside cats and is already making a bubble in my bank account. Of course, I’m still paying for the 16 missing on the other end but it made my monthly salary just in seem like “wow.”

6 responses to “darn, no lawyer’s name”

  1. Lynne says :

    I’ve been researching dry cat food and what I have found out is not reassuring. Some brands, including Science Diet which I buy for mine, will not disclose whether they put in ingredients from China. Others do admit it and also use questionable ingredients —some of which many cats cannot digest and are allergic to those ingredients. I am researching making my own, cat food, not necessarily dry kibble. I notice that Yaeli’s cats like yogurt, eggs, and other people ingredients, so perhaps a better food could be made using human grade ingredients in the correct combination for cats’ health, and perhaps cheaper, too. Newman’s Own is a good cat food, but my cats won’t eat it…cats, like people, tend to go for junk food. I had just about decided of buying Natural Balance when I found an article written January 2014 about ROCKS being found in several batches…gross. Most cat foods are disgusting. Expensive and disgusting.

    • Larry007 says :

      We have a boxer dog and some years ago when they discovered lethal ingredients in the dog food , I thoroughly researched dog food. I’m sure cat food is quite similar. For dogs I found a site called dogfoodanalysis.com. I’m sure there must be something similar for cats. I know for sure that both Science Diet and Natural Balance is crap.
      I would suggest that you try the dogfoodanalysis.com to find good dog food manufactures and then find their parallel cat food.

      • Lynne says :

        Larry 007, thank you! Yes, the pet food companies put awful stuff in pet food. I’ll try dogfoodanalysis.com right now.

  2. Lynne says :

    Yaeli, try to represent yourself as best you can, but do not stress. Even if you have to pay money to these dishonest criminals, put it in perspective. At least they will be out of your life. This could not have happened to you in New York, because you’d have been wary and alerted by the red flags in the criminal agent’s behavior. You were not expecting this kind of dishonesty in Israel, but it exists everywhere.

  3. Tiger Mike says :

    I want to know what to look for as it looks like Ill be needing an apartment in Israel in about 6 months. (My wife and I have an interview with the Jewish Agency next week about our Aliyah)

    • israeliminx says :

      Tiger, I’ll help as much as I can. I may not be the best in terms of telling you what to do (though G-d knows I’ve learned a lot) but I can definitely tell you some of the things not to do sadly from first hand experience. First and foremost is avoid real estate agencies at all costs. It in no way resembles the States when it comes to renting (or buying) here.

Leave a Reply

