beans and collard greens

I put a bag of white kidney beans to soak last night. This morning early I went out to the garden to start some oregano (so far, none of the seeds out of that packet have grown at all –we are talking last year –so we’ll see) and parsley. I was happy to see some of the radishes were sprouting. Then I cut some celery stalks and a huge bunch of collard green leaves. I’ve got them soaking in salt water now.

In a few minutes I’m going to chop up and saute a couple of the store bought onions plus the garden celery and then get the beans to boiling with them. I’ll do another rinse of the greens and then chop and add them in and allow it all to simmer, with spices and fake chicken soup powder, for eight hours. Tonight I should have some nice bean soup!

One response to “beans and collard greens”

  1. Lynne says :

    That sounds healthy and delicious! I wish I were there to share that meal with you 🙂 Here is a report on the crimes of your cats: In addition to Missy pushing a box of metal tools onto the top of the clothes dryer from the top shelf in the laundry room in the middle of the night, she put a sweet potato in her water bowl, pulled the quilt off the sofa, and chewed up a paper bag. These cats are something else. Spirited little things, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

