pins and needles for Gan Eden

Remember the one-acre place that I was gushing about –visions of cats, goats, chickens –and then felt pretty crushed about when we discovered that it is essentially not in a livable condition? Yeah, well, after two months of searching high and low and far and wide, given my budget (aka you call that a budget?! Hillary Clinton I am not), this unlivable place is a steal and a deal.

The amount I need to pay in taxes on the sold house is less than I had budgeted for (always budget for worst case scenario and then you aren’t taken unawares and might get a happy surprise!). The amount I don’t need to pay is not enough to put me into a buy a livable property range and the unlivables don’t come with any land attached (except for this little one acre gem). However, that saved amount is enough to cover the electrical re-wiring of a house and to have the house gutted. I can take it from there — in fact, I’m pretty good with a sledgehammer so I may be able to save on the actual gutting and just cover the costs of having the old sheetrock etc hauled away.

In short, two days ago my Ema submitted an offer on my behalf and the real estate agent has let us know that it is being considered by the family. I should hear back in a couple of days. In the meantime I’m on pins and needles.

I’m already thinking about colours (though I’m putting that into the ultra capable hands of my Ema –she missed her calling as an interior designer), the layout of the kitty sanctuary, where to start a garden and how to continue and expand it. I am thinking about goats and chickens. I am so praying that they accept the offer.

8 responses to “pins and needles for Gan Eden”

  1. Lynne says :

    Still waiting to hear from the real estate agent….

  2. Mac says :

    Good luck!

    • israeliminx says :

      Mac, HUG, thank you. It is looking good so far! Getting the cats settled, taking care of my Ema and getting back to my Holy Land home alive or dead are all the things I could realistically wish for in the world and we are a step closer to getting the first two accomplished. 🙂

  3. Lynne says :

    Suspenseful… still waiting.

  4. Lynne says :

    The seller signed the contract and accepted the offer! Now the inspection takes place and if there are no surprises, the sale can proceed.

  5. erin says :

    WOOOHOOO! Fingers crossed for a good inspection. Speaking of cats, this was a post on Facebook the other day that had me hysterically laughing and thinking of you and your mom after the antics of your first round of yerida kitties got in the wall….

    http://happyplace.someecards.com/twitter/a-woman-got-trapped-in-her-bedroom-by-her-cats-and-she-livetweeted-the-whole-ordeal/

  6. israeliminx says :

    I woke up to such exciting news!!!! Yay!!!!!!!!

    And Erin, that whole locked in the bedroom drama was hysterical! Thanks for sharing it — her cats must be cousins of mine because that is so something my cats would do 🙂

  7. Jake from Philly says :

    Wonderful news! I hope the inspection goes well and that you can proceed with your very exciting plans!

Leave a Reply

