I hope the landlord won’t expect me to pay for the cracked window. Bill Hamas

So the first rocket barrage of the morning aimed at Gush Dan (Tel Aviv, Bat Yam, Ramat Gan, Bnei Brak, Rishon Letzion, Holon etc etc) just ended. Sirens went but before there was time for anyone to get as far as their front door so did the first explosion. It was a somewhat distant boom. Then came the second explosion and it was most definitely not distant in the least. It sounded like it was two streets over. My windows rattled so hard that one of them got a huge big crack. I was staring at the windows at the time (don’t ask me why, they are those opaque kind you can’t see out of but that direction is the direction of incoming rockets) and was like shit, that just cracked my window! I counted 3 more explosions but none so close.

I hope my landlord does not try to hold me responsible for the window. I’m going to be putting in a nice little call to let him know what happened so there can be no mistaking. I’m also going to suggest that he write up costs of the repair and bill it to Hamas or to Abbas since he is the head of their government.

6 responses to “I hope the landlord won’t expect me to pay for the cracked window. Bill Hamas”

  1. tddpirate says :

    Have your landlord contact the real estate property tax authorities (מס רכוש) – they also insure apartments against war damage, even if the apartment in question is exempt from property tax.

  2. Mike says :

    Yaeli, I would suggest putting tape in a British Cross type pattern on your windows. That way, if the window breaks, it will keep the glass from turning into shrapnel. This is what we did for hurricanes when I was a kid growing up on the Virginia coast.

  3. israeliminx says :

    Pirate –thanks I’ll do that!

    Mike — yep, I did that on the first day rockets hit our area🙂 I grew up in hurricane land too and figured it couldn’t hurt. I don’t know why our homeland security doesn’t tell people to do it unless it doesn’t do anything against the rocket downing or hitting backlash. Psychologically though it would definitely make people feel more secure and like they have some control.

  4. erin says :

    Well hello Mike from Virginia! I live in Richmond but i grew up in Virginia Beach. We definitely did the taping business

  5. tddpirate says :

    We put masking tape on windows before the 1991 Gulf War.
    No idea why was it not advised this time.

Leave a Reply

