Mega terror attacks predicted for American shopping malls

This was covered on Israel National Radio today (you can listen to the interview here). Dr. Garrow was a 2009 nominee for the Nobel Peace Prize for his work saving baby girls from gendercide in China. He worked in Intelligence in the US government, and says that according to his contacts, a huge mega-terror attack on hundreds of malls simultaneously in America is set to take place.

This is in line with information I got way back in 2009 when I was at a counter-terrorism conference. If you remember when I came back I wrote about my experience going to a mall and how the entire time I was in there I was highly nervous –no security in place, no security guards checking people for explosives with their wands before entry, everybody in la la land, and I was so relieved to get what I needed and get out of what felt like a potential disaster just holding its breath. I’ve felt less nervous running around in the Palestinian areas of Judea and Samaria and I’m not even kidding. When I got back to the conference I talked with several people about it and they were like yeah, we know and we know there are plans to target malls, but the logistics of securing all the bazillion malls in the U.S. is problematic and more importantly (in their eyes) was the perceived need for Americans to feel safe and not like they are in a police state or a terrorist behind every bush yada yada. Quatsch. A false sense of safety is no sense of safety and by not taking preventative measures you sure as hell aren’t going to prevent a disaster. Anyway, here’s the missive from Dr. Garrow and you can listen to him being interviewed on Israel National Radio HERE –you can download the episode or click the arrow before the ‘listen now’ and it will play online.

I have avoided sharing certain information because I took an oath and will not break that oath. I am skating on the edge today because of information that I would be derelict in my duty if I did not share it. Islamists currently in the country, aided by those who have recently arrived via the southern sieve we call a border and those who boldly came on aircraft in a variety of disguises have a purpose in their criminality. Be warned, this is not for the faint of heart.

The target will be shopping malls. The method will be with explosive devices meant to inflict suffering and death and to wound as many as possible. This is terrorism in its lowest form. The purpose is to inflict fear in the hearts of Americans through this targeting of where we go to shop and relax.

The date will be a significant one for the Islamists. The event will happen simultaneously across America at hundreds of locations (note the number). The police, DHS, and security services throughout the nation should be warned and take appropriate action.

Why release this on Facebook? It turns out that the necessary agencies are reading my stuff. Why make phone calls when this gets the news out in a speedy fashion to all of them in an instant message.

Be warned, my sources on this are impeccable. I lay my 100% record of reliability on the line.- Dr. Jim Garrow
Jul 25, 2014″

11 responses to “Mega terror attacks predicted for American shopping malls”

  1. Lynne says :

    I looked him up on google, and he is described as a right-wing conspiracy theory conservative. He makes some rather wild claims, but then again, I grew up in the age of Watergate and the Kennedy Assassination, so I know that wild things do happen, and the government and politicians are not always to be trusted in any country. It could be that there is an attempt to slander Dr. Garrow, or some of these accusations may have merit.
    Is Obama enlisting Canadians to take over the US? Hmmmm doubtful.
    Something IS wrong with Obama’s plans for the US, and that is obvious, but I don’t think that Dr. Garrow is sure what that is. Are the malls vulnerable. Yes, they are and in fact, all of the US is wide open. No surprise there. No idea what Islamists are planning, but they are surely planning something.
    I am taking Dr. Garrow with a grain of salt. No idea what he really knows. Anyone who is stuck on that birther stuff seems very off-base to me. Does the US have adequate security, good intelligence information? No, I don’t think so. No confidence in that at all. And, no confidence at all in Obama and any of his policies, foreign or domestic.

  2. erin says :

    Holy Hell. One of the malls near my house just did a mass casualty training drill yesterday with hundreds of volunteers, police, and mall employees. Do they know something we don’t or is this just a coincidence?

    • Lynne says :

      I would guess coincidence, Erin. US intelligence agencies seem mostly clueless. We are facing threats from extremists, particularly Islamists, though the US insists on a focus on domestic terrorists. We have had both in the US and both are devastating, but I am not as worried about the threat of domestic terrorism. Jihadists are more organized, more ambitious in their evil plans, or so it seems, since most of the terrorism worldwide is carried out by Islamists. All extremists are scary, no matter what group. And, they are deadly…9/11…and think of the effectiveness and damage of just two jihadists, The Boston Bombers. I have no faith at all in US “intelligence” agencies like the CIA or FBI…both botched the investigation of those two in spite of obvious signs and a warning from Russia. They did not follow through with an investigation of them, in spite of glaring signals and signs. Concrete information was ignored. I have no faith in these agencies. We are on our own to protect ourselves, I believe. Quite honestly, sporting events, shopping centers, any long lines as in airports, schools and the like are possible targets. We can just try to be as careful as possible.

  3. israeliminx says :

    I can attest to the veracity of less than 20% of what he says in the interview. I’ve confirmed what I can confirm in the post above. At the conference I attended there were a few things we were urged not to discuss and I haven’t and won’t. I did specifically ask about the issue of potential threats to malls and was told that was fine to discuss publicly -a major reason why I blogged about it immediately following the conference.

    • Lynne says :

      Yep. He may not have as much information as you do….on the other hand, he may know about as much as he claims. Perhaps. He seems a bit far out there, and extremism whether to the left or right or in any case, is not good.
      One thing that Dr. Garrow has right is what any of us can observe: The DHS is not a competent agency and there is not visible security in most places in the US. Certainly not in movie theaters or shopping centers, grocery store, well, hardly anywhere …This is a huge country, and it would take a huge effort to make it secure. Enormous. We are not even secure from criminals.

  4. israeliminx says :

    He definitely had access to much more information than I but whether he is reporting that info accurately I have no way of knowing. I do know that both the terrorist attacks in Mumbai and on the Westgate shopping mall in Nairobi were practice attacks for attacks in the EU ad US and I know that because the terrorists publicly said it.

    • dumbledoresarmy says :

      Given what happened at Mumbai and at Nairobi, I think it’s only a matter of time. My oldest daughter works part-time in one of the biggest shopping centres in Australia; perhaps I need to warn her to be alert and aware, and I need to ask her whether the people in charge where she works, have *any* sort of training to do with 1/ awareness of the possibility of bombs, etc and 2/ any sort of plan as to what to do if something like Nairobi starts to happen.

      Perhaps those of us in the West who are aware need to prod the *unions* and other relevant organisations to consider the safety of the people who work in those places.

      The other people who need to wake up are the churches.

      I shocked the parish council at my church, some months ago, when we discussing having a fire drill. I said, “Have we thought about what we would do if we were attacked? If someone blew something up outside the front door (we have a non-gated driveway with a drop-off point for elderly and disabled persons, right on front of our doors), or if people came into the church throwing things or firing at us?” the only people who got what I was saying were the two or three councillors who are or have been schoolteachers, because schools have *had* to think about the possibility of shooters (though they’re not usually thinking organised Muslim jihad, they’re just worrying about stuff like Columbine, lone nutters). Anyway, we’ve had our fire drill, but we haven’t yet begun to think about how we might guard against or respond to the other eventuality.

      Unlike synagogues, I don’t think even one church anywhere in Australia has thought about having security guards, or people in the congregation who take responsibility for being “alert and aware”. But sooner or later – “after Saturday comes Sunday” – the attacks on churches within the West are going to start, because the attacks on synagogues are already happening.

  5. SirJohn says :

    As you might know, I spent a long time of my professional life in law enforcement and anti-terrorism. From that experience, I must sadly say, nothing this guy says is new. Every morning I actually can say a prayer that one or more of all the scenarios we have been expecting in LE circles has not happened yesterday. The US, like most open societies, simply cannot be secured in a way that would completely make these kind of terror attacks impossible. We all know that and feel that.

    As to the orchestrated mass casualty attack: this has been expected basically all the time since 9/11 and it has, thank G-d, never materialized. We have studied scenarios, and we have practiced responses at least since 9/11. We also know that, as I said above, we cannot prevent it forever. That said, some kind of attacks have actually been prevented. Our intelligence services and LE agencies are not as bad as most people think, even though they are far from perfect. There have been some plans that have been thwarted. And our peace loving friends from the middle East, with help of brethren from other areas in the world, will continue to plan, scheme, and eventually attempt to cause mass mayhem. That is a sad fact of life.

    I have my personal view about what could be done to prevent more of that (not all, as I said above), but those currently in power see things differently.

    So, the orchestrated mall attack: is it likely, possible, inescapable? What should we do? My answers: From all we know, the muslims currently do not have that well disciplined and educated terror net that they had in 2001. This is because our intelligence services have upset their logistics quite a lot. For that reason, I believe that currently an attack is possible, any time, but on a much lesser scale than the one that has been described above. Will that change in the future? Nobody knows, but we must not become complacent.

    So, a more limited attack, on one, two or three malls at the same time, is surely possible. I am pretty sure those guys in Kenya were not the smartest rocket scientists, nor those in Mumbai, so there is nothing that says it could not happen here. A more sophisticated coordinated attack on such a grand scale needs more resources, though.

    Mall security: generally is a joke. Anybody can enter a mall, anybody can bring almost anything into a mall. People carrying heavy packages in a mall are what makes shop owners happy, aren’t they? So they can have bombs, assault rifles or any other toys in them and carry them around pretty easily, as long as they use Macy’s shopping bags. Seriously, malls are built to make access easy. People would not want to have TSA-like checkpoints at every mall. And even if we had, the terrorists simply would look for a different target, like the Boston Marathon.

    Israel has some good and valuable experience with mall security, but even there the fact that there haven’t been more attacks are more founded on very good preventive work by the security forces long before the muslims reach a mall, than by mall security. In other words: it is not so much the uniformed, armed guard that actually makes the place secure, it is the Shabak agent working in the shadows, far away from that mall.

    It still is good to have mall security, though. A mall security guard can keep her eyes open, look for unattended packages, suspicious behavior etc., just like any other visitor in a mall should do. This is something the British had adopted very well when I spent a year in London in the 70s and everyone was afraid of IRA bombs in department stores etc. There is not much more you can do. Be vigilant. And, as I personally have learned: trust your gut feelings! If something feels weird, don’t ignore the feeling. Don’t rationalize it away. If something feels weird, get away from it, may be even raise an alarm, but get away from the situation!This is a personal experience I once had and it saved my life. Always trust your feelings. Better be a fool than blown up by a bomb. But mall security always will the the last barrier. If all other barriers before have failed, it will most likely not prevent an attack.

    Vigilance. This is what we all can contribute. If you want to stop a mall attack, chances are much higher that you can stop it before the terrorists leave their lair on the way to the mall, but once they are on the way, there will be not much to stop them. We need to be more vigilant long before those guys are ready for action. Many little things can give them away, see 9/11 again.

    That’s all I can say. Whenever I visit a mall, and I don’t do that often, my family and friends always tell me: “Please stop being a cop. Your eyes constantly roam the place, you are always on the lookout for danger. You never relax!” That is true. Maybe that is how we all need to become.

    • Lynne says :

      Sir John, thank you for your excellent comment! I totally agree, and I appreciate your valuable insights. I rarely go to malls myself, but not for security reasons. I just don’t like them, but I remember when I did. I am a much more conscious consumer now and less of one. I like to consider my purchases carefully and seldom buy on impulse, and a most important consideration for me is that I do not want to waste my time in a long shopping expedition. At one time, that was the American mindset, but I think that is changing for others, and not just me. I usually shop for something specific, and it’s often difficult to find that among the items, numerous though they are, in a department store or a mall. I tend to go online where I can check out quality, price, and have a better chance of finding what I want. Or, I go to small specialty shops, too. American malls are not faring well just now, and may be on the way out. Mall security is not really a reason that I seldom shop at the mall, but as you say, the US is wide open and malls certainly are. There is no easy way to secure them. A bit of vigilance on our part is our best defense.

  6. israeliminx says :

    Dumbledores Army, I think you make some really good points. I think Australia is in a bit of a better position than the U.S. as it tends to be more selective as to who it lets in, tracks them better, and it doesn’t have a porous border.

    Sir John, as always your input and expertise on security is highly valued. As you point out, people definitely need to be more vigilant in the U.S. Not this summer, because of the ‘matzav’ (situation), but usually we have tons of calls for the bomb dispersal team with the handy dandy explode it robot because American tourists are forever leaving bags and luggage etc unattended on buses and in cafes, on the beach etc and they are quite surprised when there is the two-block evacuation and their stuff gets kaboomed.

    • SirJohn says :

      LOL, I know. It is sad that we have to be reminded of being more vigilant. I wish we would live in a world where we would not need to be.

      I remember my first experience with that was when I was a teenager and was in Israel the first time, with 2 friends. One of them left his bag for a moment when he got up to get a soda at Ben Gurion. He came back and the bag was gone, passport etc all inside. We were freaking out, but actually learned to be very grateful to Israel Police: They had scooped up the bag and put it into a little bomb shelter outside of the terminal. They were going to blow it up, but for us it meant that nothing got stolen.🙂 After a stern warning my friend got his bag back. It was amazing, the bag could not have been unattended for more than 5 minutes. Those guys were really vigilant. The cops were in plain clothes and constantly roaming the terminal. We only had met two of them and then saw them everywhere while we were waiting for our plane, and I assume there have been many more.

      We had noticed similar vigilance only a week before: Naive as we were, we were taking photos everywhere, also in the old Tel Aviv train station. After about 3 minutes two cops came up and inquired what we were doing, where we were from etc. They explained that a train station was a sensitive place and so they were concerned about anyone taking photos which could assist in the planning of a terrorist attack. So someone had noticed us and right away called the cops. They were very friendly, after checking us out they allowed us to continue. But hey, they did not miss a thing.

      Later, when it was my job to be that vigilant, I always remembered those episodes. I was called to a lot of bags, packages etc. after 9/11 and we happily blew them up (actually nowadays you don’t blow them up, usually you use a water cannon to destroy them). Never once they contained a real bomb, but it served as a lesson to New Yorkers.

      Unfortunately, as I said before, other countries’ people adapt to these things more easily than Americans. Britons in the 70s and 80s of last century always were on the lookout for IRA bombs. Americans still cling to their dream of an innocent world and have a hard time remembering that evil does lurk around the corner.

Leave a Reply

