not enough hours in the day

This morning I met the landlord’s wife and we switched the arnona into their name and I paid the final month’s rent. She is coming on Thursday to get the water and electric readings so we can cancel my automatic payments and get the utilities into their names. I got the refrigerator and freezer cleaned out (felt like a criminal throwing an entire trashbag of food out) and the fridge completely cleaned inside and out. I got the water drained out of the washing machine (major balagan on the floor with the flood). I talked with the storage people and discovered that they will take a U.S. check if all the other transfer options fail. The U.S. government has gone insane and for some bizarro reason has forbidden credit unions to do international bank transfers.

I’m about to go bang on the neighbour’s door and find out when they are picking up the fridge, washer and dryer. Last night they said this afternoon but not when and the husband said he’d come by and let me know when he got home from work but he did not. All I know is that they damn well better get these things and get them out today.

I don’t know what to do next –windows in the living room? carry the microwave down? sort through the papers that the mover’s forgot to pack and see if I need to box and mail them? Argh.

6 responses to “not enough hours in the day”

  1. Lynne says :

    I wish I had flown there to help. IT is Tuesday. I can leave for Israel tomorrow. Just let me know.

    • israeliminx says :

      Ema’le I’ll manage. It is always frantic at the end of a move and this one is just more complicated. The neighbours are coming in an hour to take the stuff and they are going to carry the baker’s rack down for me. They are back in my good graces. I handed off a full year’s supply of washing powder to them —remember that amazing deal I got a bit more than a year ago on 3 huge bags of washing powder for 100 sheks? Still have a full bag and a half left and when I had all the beastlets in here I was washing a load of clothes at least once per day and often two or three. They’ve got a 13 month old and a brand new baby and so they can surely use it.

  2. Mike says :

    Okay, Yaeli is busy moving, so I’m putting this on all of you. (I know this is off topic.) I’m no social media wiz. I don’t tweet or Pinterest and only have 40 friends on Facebook, so I need your help getting this story spread as far as possible. It’s the best piece I have ever seen on the poor media coverage of Israel. Please help.

    http://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-politics/183033/israel-insider-guide

    • israeliminx says :

      Mike, it is a great article and a must-read and spread. I’ve been tweeting it using various catchy titles to get people’s interest all day. Definitely people tweet, Facebook, pinterest and whatever else you use to get it out there — written by a former AP reporter.

    • erin says :

      I’ve passed on the article. Excellent information.

      As for the move Yaeli, I have to laugh. It is teacher work week here and since I am in a “learning cottage” (i.e. trailer) I had to box up everything so they could empty the room to wax the floor. Nevermind that because they put all the furniture back in a big pile in the middle of the room I scraped up the floors moving all the heavy stuff around by myself. I say forget the waxing and just freaking mop the floor regularly. My little guys with autism LOVE to eat off the floor….Anyways, I asked the custodians to come dump the trash yesterday. They said they would get to it by Thursday before open house. Uh no. Guess who left a big old pile of empty boxes outside my door tonight? Between now and Thursday at 4 I have 4 completely empty walls to decorate, parents to contact, files to review, first week plans to write, medical orders to obtain so one of my students can use his oxygen machine and other medical equip in the classroom, staff development sessions to attend, and a plan of attack to develop for a student who I was informed today is severely autistic, bites, and and runs. And that is the short list. So navigating around a big pile of trash for two more days? I ain’t got time for ‘dat!

Leave a Reply

