Going into the final stretch

Bedroom done, Tovi’s room done, kitchen nearly done (as soon as the drawers I washed have dried and get put back), small machsan done (that was a bitch) toilet room done, hallway done. I still have the 6 big windows, to carry down a few more things that got left in the porch (machsan 2), the bathroom, the living room floor, to take all the trash down and to organize the cleaning supplies.

If I get done by midnight, I will take a shower, feed the cats their final pre-travel meal, charge the battery on the tablet, get all the bags close to the door, do a final check, empty the litter, trap the cats and walla. I’ve got to run up to the vad as soon as it is officially motze shabbat to pay the final 75 sheks.

The rooms I’ve cleaned are clean enough that you could eat off the floor, if you didn’t mind a bit of soap residue. The windows are so streakless that it doesn’t look like there is glass in them.

I’m still in a state of shock. I still can’t comprehend that I’ll be locking the door and heading to the airport in like 12 hours.

7 responses to “Going into the final stretch”

  1. Lynne says :

    I cannot imagine how you are managing. I wish that we had never thought of your leaving Israel.

  2. WipeOutHamasOnceAndForAll says :

    Keep us posted, Yael, when you are back in the USA, telling us what is going on with your life. Wishes you and your mother the best. Take care of both of you.

  3. Larry007 says :

    I lived in Israel in several rented apartments and to tell you the truth, there is no reason to overclean the windows or anything else, nor it is expected. Moderate cleaned apartment on leaving is good enough.

    • israeliminx says :

      Unless your landlord has come and seen your moderately (aka for a normal rental) cleaned apartment and demanded that professional cleaners be hired (by them) with the money for the cleaners to be paid upfront (by me or that they will hire cleaners and charge it to my guarantors). The damn place was cleaner than when I rented it by far when they came in.

  4. israeliminx says :

    Well it is temporary but I’ve become a real homebody — traveling about in Israel I find fun and cool but actually leaving the country gives me the heebee jeebees. In the last 10 years I’ve taken three personal trips (48 hours for my bro’s wedding in Japan, 50 hours last summer when my Ema was super sick and to meet my niece for the 1st time as their visit coincided, and the 48 hr major cat transport last February). I’ve gone on 8 fly-in, give a talk, fly out keynote business trips and turned down a further 23 all-expenses paid keynote invites. It is like I have country-wide agoraphobia — in the country is fine, out of the country ahhhhhh.

  5. Mac says :

    Be safe and have a good trip!

  6. erin says :

    Safe travels! Please still keep up your blog. I wanna hear how it’s going here in the states for you and your mom and we all want to know when you both are getting to move back home!

Leave a Reply

