Monday update: garden plans, cat update, no chag sameachs

Next year in Jerusalem…

I’m at the coffee house so I can connect online with my computer. It looks like it will probably be about a week before I’ll be able to get online from the house but that is cool as I work best at a coffee house at any rate.

I’ve been doing lots of garden planning. I’m about to start seeds for transplanting for a fall garden. The current 5 x 10.5 garden bed needs a tremendous amount of work — weeded, new soil mix made and put in and I’ve got to build a barrier all round it to keep the outside feral porch kitties and neighbour kitties from getting into it and using it as a litterbox (hence the need for all new soil and a barrier– not a good situation for healthy people but a potentially deadly addition for my Ema).

I’m going to go full square foot gardening method rather than the (better) combined bio-intensive and sq foot methods and have seeds for buttercrunch lettuce, spinach, mustard greens, arugula, kale, radishes, carrots, beets, and I’ve got to pick up seeds for turnip greens (my Ema’s favourite). I’m going to do the grocery store re-grow for celery and green onions. Lynne also has two packets of seeds for micro-greens, one mild and the other spicy and I’m starting those today in containers — only 25 days for awesome cut and come again mixed salad. I’ll try to take some before, in-progress, and then growing and harvesting pictures to post up as time goes by.

I’m in utter shock at how much food costs here (and in re-shock at how flavourless store-bought veggies are here).

All of my cats brought here last February have not only reconnected with me — after initially looking at me like an alien from outer space (run away, run away!)– and become attention-demanding little beastlets, except for Tinoket. I’m seriously surprised at that –not only because when you have a cat for 8 years that you raised from tiniest kittenhood you’d expect them to like, recognize you, but also because Tinoket was never one of my ‘scary’ ones. Even Tzeekada, Fluffy, Leeza, and Shachori (my most scaredy-cats of the lot) don’t freak out when I approach (or not much) but Tinoket has gone into major hiding. One thing that is for sure and that is that, with 32 of these little critters, there is never a dull moment!

It is so strange to not have people wishing you a Chag Sameach or Shana Tova at every turn. I keep saying it to people and then realizing they have no idea what I’ve just said. Last Friday I was convinced it was Thursday because we were out and about and I didn’t hear any “Shabbat Shalom”s and so on Saturday morning I was like, so where are the candle holders for the Shabbat candles –I’ll need them tonight and my mother was like, eh today is Saturday. Yeah. Totally different world. I feel like a fish out of water. It has been years since I missed lighting candles for Shabbat. It isn’t going to happen again but I’m going to have to get over my la la la relying on external cues for the approach of Shabbat and holidays. I’m still jet-lagged and am waking up every morning between 3:30 and 4 and feeling like I’ve slept into the late morning already even when going to bed just a few hours prior.

One response to “Monday update: garden plans, cat update, no chag sameachs”

  1. Mike says :

    Well a big Chag semeach and L’shana tova to you, Yaeli. I hope you will settle in some over time.

Leave a Reply

