Shana tova v’metuka

Sorry the New Year’s greeting is coming a bit late but it is no less heartfelt. I’ll do a longer update later about diving into major cooking for the holiday for the first time in years (I’ve been lucky enough to have spent the last 10 or so years with friends who did all the very delicious cooking and this year was lucky enough to do the cooking for me and my Ema!) and about Mischa the cat. I’m about to go pick Mischa up from the vet. His teeth surgery turned out to be more extensive than expected, food had actually gotten up into his sinuses through some of the teeth and caused and infection there and there was a large growth under his tongue that has now been removed and is going to be biopsied — the vet thinks it is benign but we won’t know until the biopsy results come back in about a week. I’ll hear more when I pick him up. I’m quite nervous about the cost. The estimate pre-surgery was that it would likely run about a cool $1000 and so goodness only knows what the tally will be now. It all had to be done, however, and, while he is going to be seriously miserable and in pain from the surgery for about 6 weeks, after that he will feel like a new cat. Given the state his teeth, mouth and sinuses have been in, I can’t even begin to imagine how much pain he was in just daily. I mean seriously that would just about kill a human.

Before I head out I’ll leave ya’ll, as they say here in Texas, with a link to a heartwarming story about a true hero in Syria that Paul brought to my attention in the comments: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2770503/The-real-hero-Syrian-civil-war-The-ambulance-driver-spends-savings-feeding-orphaned-cats-Aleppo.html Awesome pictures and a man with an amazing heart.

2 responses to “Shana tova v’metuka”

  1. erin says :

    Shanah Tova to you and your Ema as well! I am lucky to have a jewish “family” here so I get to have wonderful food for the holidays. If only I knew how to cook so i could have leftovers. There is nothing like some brisket and tzimmes after a long day. Not to mention my little guys at school are quite the international bunch (I have one kiddo from India, one from Bengali, and one from Africa amongst my american kiddos) and they seriously frowned upon my apple pie tasting idea (thank you Ms. Smith!) on Wednesday. I am thinking tzimmes with the orange juice, curry, and other sephardic spices my friend uses might be a bigger hit with them since it pulls from some of their familiar cultural flavors. Since many of them are 3 or 4 years old and are not used to feeding themselves (some cultural differences, others developmentally delayed) we gotta work on this at school.

    Glad to hear Mischa got all that work done, not glad it will cost so much. Loved that article. It’s hard to remember with all the negativity coming from Syria, Iraq, etc. that not everyone is mixed up in ISIS. That there are some amazing people out there who just want to live life and just be. If you find out about where this guy is and if we can help him, please let me know. I hate to see him giving up his savings…Hopefully he will have something in the future to use his savings on.

    Take care!!

  2. Mike says :

    Shana tova.

Leave a Reply

