this blog is about to undergo a change — I just haven’t decided how

The blog is no longer a haven for me to spit out whatever is on my mind, anything that might be worrying me, my feelings about pretty much anything or pretty much almost anything else. I regularly sit down to compose a blog post and, as the needed self-censorship kicks in, I realize that there really isn’t much I can say about much of anything –certainly not anything that really matters to me. You’ve probably noticed the lack of updates if, because of the lack of updates, you still bother to check this blog.

I’ve considered the options. I could go all politics all the time and just rant about the, it seems, multi-daily insults, underminings, and machinations that present an existential threat to my country. I could start blogging only in Hebrew or only in German (yes, my German is still better than my Hebrew but more to the point uses the same keyboard I have available). I could just restrict it to how the borrowed garden grows. I’ve not decided yet but do plan to put up a post on the garden later today.

5 responses to “this blog is about to undergo a change — I just haven’t decided how”

  1. tddpirate says :

    I wonder why do you need to censor yourself now that you are not working for the Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya.

  2. Coyote says :

    My Mom’s and Dad’s caregivers (and I) had the same problem. We initially used a dry erase board only to find my parents reading our notes. Afterwards we used our cell phones. Talked privately. It worked better that way when discussing sensitive topics.

    I must tell you though that my Hebrew is fast becoming rusty and German? I don’t know a word of German. So if your blog goes in that direction well I really have enjoyed reading it.

  3. Erin says :

    I still check! I miss your posts. How come you feel like you can’t say what you think about things anymore? You are one of the few people I know who gives a rip about Israel and living a jewish life so it will really suck if you stop blogging. Besides, one day I am going to eventually get my behind to Israel and I need to keep in touch with you so I can visit your cat sanctuary!

  4. miki says :

    Hi Yaeli,

    I still check too, and I miss your writing. Can you explain why you have to censor yourself? I feel like I must have missed something.

    Won’t be able to read if you start blogging in Hebrew or German, and will be very disappointed / let down.

    Miki

  5. SirJohn says :

    Mir hat immer besonders gefallen, dass neben den interessanten Themen aus Politik und Leben in Israel eben auch die persönliche Seite von Yael durchblickte. Man lernte Dich kennen, das unterschied den blog von anderen. Es wäre schön, wenn es so bleiben würde! And no, it is not necessary to switch to German🙂 Just stay how you are and we will be happy. Don’t censor yourself!!

Leave a Reply

