A maybe life-changing update

I’ve not been this intellectually excited since I was a grad student and studying and finding things that no one had done before. This is not quite like that because people have definitely studied and done this before and I am a rank newbie. I’ve fallen in love with coding. We are talking head over heels in love with it and it is a great match because I’ve been studying the Internet and human-computer relations my entire adult life.

I don’t know if I’ve got an aptitude for coding. Getting the highest grades in two coding classes at a community college is not a good benchmark.(By the by, these courses had far more stringent standards than any of the courses I’ve taught in the past 10 years: Your WEEKLY assignments –sometimes 3 in a week per class, requiring at least 20 hours of work to complete them for a single class– are due on X date at 11:59 p.m. and not even an act of G-d will let you submit them for credit one minute late at 12:00 p.m. –the kids I was teaching would have gone to ground in the first week and had conniption fits)

My bro, who also happens to be a software programming genius, says that he is proud and impressed with the final projects I put together (but what else is a bro going to say?) –praise from a familial relation is not a good benchmark. The email I got from him the other day, however, may be. He looked over my code for my final project and then he wrote me about a coding bootcamp at a very well respected place called MakerSquare, said that I not only can do it but will do it and he’ll pay half of the price ($10,000 of the $20,000) of the 3-month, 66-80 hour week, coding learn-a-thon. I’m not there yet. We only covered 6 chapters in the course I took and, while I taught myself a lot of stuff out of chapters we didn’t cover, you have to know Javascript upside down, sideways and while standing on your head blindfolded to pass the admissions interview (they only accept 10% of applicants). Sooooooooo….

In a couple of weeks I’m going to start the recommended 8-week prep course with mentor and cross my fingers that I am accepted into the September cohort.

I’m also learning (on my own) Python this summer and I’ve put together both a Javascript and Python study group from interested classmates. I am just really excited.

8 responses to “A maybe life-changing update”

  1. Tiger Mike says :

    Ummm, what’s coding? What’s Python aside from a snake? (Yes, I’m ignorant)

  2. Coyote says :

    I learned long ago that coding wasn’t my thing. But if it was? I’d go for it! Think of the flexibility in residence … the new tech generation can live anywhere and work for anyone. No commuting. Great money. Go for it!

  3. tddpirate says :

    Tiger Mike:
    Coding is another name for software writing.
    Python is the name of a programming language (my current favorite, by the way, and very easy to learn).

    Yaeli:
    Looking toward the day in which you’ll be a formidable competitor of mine.

    • Tiger Mike says :

      What ever happened to fortran and basic? That’s what I learned. Yes, I am dating myself.

      • tddpirate says :

        FORTRAN IV was the first programming language I learned (it does not quite date me because I was 12 years old at the time).

        FORTRAN and BASIC are now obsolete for new projects. There are all kinds of programming concepts and paradigms (recursion, lambda expressions, objects, modularity, functions as first class objects, associative arrays, iterators, multithreaded processing, asynchronous processing, etc.) which are not supported out of the box by the old programming languages.

        There have been several additions and enhancements to FORTRAN (the most recent version is FORTRAN 2008, with FORTRAN 2015 planned for release at 2016 – according to Wikipedia) and to BASIC (such as Visual BASIC), but at the price of language complexity and loss of coherence.

        So for new projects, more modern programming languages are recommended.

  4. Tiger Mike says :

    Yael, is this something you can do from home? (By “home” I mean Israel)

  5. israeliminx says :

    Wow thanks for the supportive responses!🙂

    Pirate — hopefully not a competitor but maybe fellow team member🙂 There’s room and then some for folks with good coding skills.🙂

    Tiger Mike — importantly, yes! Israel is not known as the ‘start-up nation’ for nothing🙂

    Coyote — yes, that is the beauty of it, isn’t it?! If, and it is a big if, I can get accepted to the MakerSquare intensive bootcamp, one of the great things about it is that their ‘graduates’ are highly sought after and more than 96% of them land jobs within 3 months making above 60k.

Leave a Reply

