Excitedly awaiting book order, deep into coding-learning, garden bitlets

Tomorrow A Smarter Way to Learn JavaScript: The New Approach that Uses Technology to Cut Your Effort in Half should arrive on my doorstep but more importantly, on Friday, the big mama of Javascript books: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages should be here and by Monday Murach’s JavaScript and jQuery. Yeah, a bit of light reading, lol. I’ve outgrown the book we used in the class I took this spring (the other half of the book gets covered in the final course in the web dev programme).

Now I’m getting into things like closures, recursion, and a bunch of other things that, when I try to explain to my Ema why I’m banging my head against a wall and gnashing my teeth, she’s like “STOP. I have no idea what you are talking about!” Since I’d have had that same reaction just a few months ago, I can’t blame her (and won’t go nattering on about specifics here either!). These new books though will hopefully help me stop feeling like a child lost in the wilderness and give me a few breadcrumbs to successfully follow out of the woods.

The garden is coming along about as well as can be expected. We’re starting to get a good number of tomatoes, okra, cucumbers, eggplants and mini-peppers daily and that seriously helps with the grocery bill. Our hot Tabasco peppers are just starting to bloom but the plants are big and healthy. The bell peppers (those started from seed and bought as starters) are proving to be a disappointment. We’re getting some here and there but they are not not exactly what you’d call bountiful.

As funny as it sounds, it is almost time to start fall veggies (like beets). I’ve still got a lot of succession planting to do: More okra, more green beans, more cucumbers, and then to plant the watermelons and HaOgen melons as well. It is so fun to come out every morning and see what will be on the menu that evening (provided no one did a runner with the nearly ready veg overnight!).

Leave a Reply

