We lost little Minette

On Friday, last, we made an emergency visit to the vet with Smokey Eyin Echad (Smokey One Eye). She is the old kitty that I rescued in Tel Aviv who had had a stroke and I re-taught her how to walk in a straight line because, after the stroke, she could only walk in circles. She had had a bout of really bad diarrhea and was crying when she got in the litter box. It turned out that she is fine, just experiencing elderly cat gastro problems. We got home with her and got her settled. I got my computer out and set up on the porch to try to work on coding and my Ema got ready to run to the store.

Minette was laying on the porch. In the past couple of months, she has been just loving to be out on the front porch with me and our feral porch kitty, Emily. Ema came to the door to let me know she was getting ready to leave and said, “Is Minette okay? I don’t like the way she is laying there.”

To be honest, I wasn’t really paying full attention and just sort of glanced up. “It is really hot out here, I think she is just sacked out.” Ema went back in but a few minutes later what she’d said started niggling at me and I took a good look at the kitty who was laying with her back to me. “Minette?” She started to sit up and then fell over onto her other side. Oh G-d. I scrambled over to her and she tried to sit up again but her back legs went out from under her. Really oh my G-d.

I ran around the side of the house hoping Ema had not yet left for the store. The car was still there. I ran in and screamed for Ema to come quick. It was closing time at our vet clinic but they said to rush her in and the vet would stay to see her.

Minette had gone through years of terrible neglect before being rescued by my Ema — many of you guys reading here were incredibly compassionate and generous and gave donations when I posted a plea for help for her back in 2012 (here’s the link to her story: https://israeliminx.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/help-little-minette/). We knew that she had damaged kidneys from so many years of not being able to get water regularly: When the vet checked her, one of her kidneys was extremely distended this time. It looks like she had a stroke on Friday afternoon, while we were at the vet with Smokey One-Eye, and her kidneys were starting to fail from it.

I’ve nursed two cats back from strokes before and we talked extensively with the vet about options and possibility that she could recover (giving her fluids, putting her into intensive care in an oxygen chamber for several days, and so forth) but his assessment was that he didn’t think she would make it.

I held her after he gave her pain killer and a mild sedative and she purred as I scritched her head and chin in the way she likes best. When he inserted the sedative that stops the heart into the IV, he’d only put in a fraction of the amount that is usually used to put them to sleep when she slipped away. We buried her next to a rose tree in the back yard.

After having had such a hard and miserable life, her last three years were full of creature comforts, love, and attention. The last three months were especially happy ones for her: We got her a lion cut in early May (shaving off all the hair except on her tail and head) and a therapeutic bath to help her skin condition (which had improved dramatically in the time we had her). She is, was, always like a different little cat after getting her summer lion cut –frisking and playing even at her advanced age and fragile health. Every morning she would race out onto the porch to spend the day with me — sunning herself in the early morning and late afternoon and sitting in my lap or laying nearby in the shade during the heat of the day.

I miss my little porch companion more than words can say.

5 responses to “We lost little Minette”

  1. Rob says :

    So sorry to hear your news. I’ve lost cats too and the pain is almost unbearable.

  2. Erin says :

    So sorry to hear about Minette. From one pet rescuer to another, thank you for giving her the best 3 years ever!

  3. israeliminx says :

    Rob, thank you! It is really hard on my Ema right now, having just lost her cat Smokey (she had him for 17 years) two months ago and now Minette. Unfortunately, we’ve got a lot of very elderly little critters in this crew and most of them are pretty seriously health compromised. We take each day we still have them, and that they are able to enjoy life, as a real gift.

    Erin, thank you so much. I’d love an update on how you are doing!

  4. Mike says :

    Sorry to hear that. I love my pets, so I know how it is.

  5. dumbledoresarmy says :

    That *is* sad.

Leave a Reply

