Glass half-full half-way through the Junior phase at MakerSquare

Every day it is so easy to focus on the glass that is half-empty: We get hit with a new challenge and I struggle. I really, really struggle. At the end of each sprint, I always feel deflated, focusing on the things that I just don’t get. I all too often compare myself to others, particularly to the folks who just rocked it with no sweat. I always feel that I am not learning fast enough, deep enough, that I’m not going to retain what I learned. I often feel like I’ve got a CODING LOSER ticker-tape running across my forehead: One big enough it can be seen from blocks away.

Yesterday, however, I took a bit of stock. I was talking with a good friend who will be starting the Junior phase when I, hopefully, will be starting the Senior phase. He noted that he was worried about learning the ins and outs of github and I was like, oh, no worries, it is really easy and you’ll get the hang of it quick– it will be the easiest thing you’ll learn. Then I remembered how terrified I had been, and how daunting github had seemed to me, before I started.

That started me thinking, without my really being aware of it. I was doing a React.js tutorial last night to try to bolster my tenuous grasp after our React sprint ended yesterday afternoon, and I noticed that I was using the ES6 arrow functions and ternary terminology without a second thought. Even a week ago, I was totally freaked out when solution code would get slacked out and it was using this terminology and I was like what the…I can’t make heads or tails of this! It was like looking at (another!) foreign language.

So, I grabbed a piece of paper and wrote down the things that immediately came to mind of, not the things that I need to work on, the things I’m lacking in, the things I ‘suck’ at, but the things that once seemed so alien and hard and that I now apply with ease — without even noticing that I’m applying them with ease. That list was pretty long! (I’ll spare you from listing them here).

Today, I’m looking at the glass that is half-full, rather than the glass that is half-empty. I am football fields ahead of where I was three weeks ago. I’m not where I want to be. I’m not where I’m determined to get. I am, however, a lot further along in this race than I’ve been giving myself credit for and that is a very good feeling.

I am still loving every minute (ok, so maybe not literally every minute) of this bootcamp experience. I love the camaraderie with the other members of my cohort. It really does feel like family. I’ve had a lot of really great experiences in my life and, so far, this is among the best of those.

2 responses to “Glass half-full half-way through the Junior phase at MakerSquare”

  1. lynne says :

    It surely seems that MakerSquare is an excellent program and that there are so many advantages to participating in this program. Just the camaraderie alone is reason enough to do MakerSquare—it enhances the learning experience and makes it easier to grasp the concepts.

    Isn’t coding like another language? Language acquisition is not an instant process but I am sure that it will become second nature to you after a while!
    Keep us posted on your experience!

  2. Mika says :

    I’m following your coding experience with great interest. You’ve done so many amazing things and this is another one! My brother is now planning to apply to the program in the spring. He’s graduating with his degree in Computer Science in December and wants to take a semester off before searching for a job to have a more intensive –he claims fun– programming experience. He’s been looking at a lot of bootcamps. Now that he’s been reading about your journey he has made the decision. If you are still in Austin in the spring, maybe you can take him under your wing?

    When do you think you’ll be moving back home?

Leave a Reply

