Working on my first MVP

I’m really excited to start putting together my first, and all my own, MVP (Minimal Viable Product). The first big hurdle was coming up with the idea for it (I’m keeping that under wraps for the moment, but will tell all once I’ve finished the project).

The next hurdle was (and is)..(great!) BUT, what tools do I want to choose to implement and deploy this puppy. That I’ll be using Node.js and Express.js was a no-brainer for me. What kind of database to use was a bit more difficult to decide: I really can use the practice with a non-relational database (e.g. MongoDB) but I have a good comfort zone with using relational databases, specifically with using MySQL.

I’ve decided to go for comfort zone on the database because the other big conundrum is what framework should I use. I feel very comfortable with Angular.js right now (I spent 3 months studying it over the summer) but I really, really want to master React.js. I’ve decided to go for React and deal with one ‘tenuous grasp’ territory at a time.

I’m between 90-95% through designing my database schema. I’m leaning toward deploying on Heroku but haven’t decided 100%. I’m not sure what Middleware I’m going to want and need to use.

I’ve got a pretty good idea of how the app should look and feel but I know I’ll want to do some tweaking and adding.

I’m feeling pretty good after deciding on the idea less than 8 hours ago. We’ll see how things progress.

I want to give huge kudos to CodeSchool. Seriously, $29 a month gives you way more valuable information and practice than you’ll get in university courses or a bootcamp.

I promise to update on the garden, cats, and life in general in the next few days. In the meantime, Shabbat Shalom!

2 responses to “Working on my first MVP”

  1. lynne says :

    When you sign up for Code School – how does it work? So it’s a stand alone good resource even better than a university course or bootcamp?

    • israeliminx says :

      For $29 a month you get unlimited access to all the courses they have on offer (and they have a lot). The courses are very well done. Everyone in my cohort uses it to learn the various frameworks etc and all the fellows were recommending “go do this series” at Code School. I’ve discovered that bootcamps don’t actually teach you the frameworks, the Javascript etc — you are supposed to be autonomous and google your way to learning. The value of bootcamps lies in the connections you make –it is getting the local tech equivalent of protectzia. You can also do this by attending meetups in your area.

Leave a Reply

