Hanukkah Sameach and Merry Christmas

I’ve got an Obama rant coming but tonight is not the time. Tonight, after the family lit our candles, my focus is on family, continuity and, in that vein, the miracle that is Israel and our forever undivided capitol of Jerusalem.

Wishing you all a Chag Sameach, and, to my Christian readers, a very Merry Christmas!

One response to “Hanukkah Sameach and Merry Christmas”

  1. Mike B. says :

    We all have an anti-Obama rant in us right now. I think that’s what I did for an hour with my wife on our drive up to ski today. I am not proud of this, but I just sent an e-mail to the White House comparing Obama to Antiochus and suggesting that after leaving office he could find work portraying Haman in Purim spiels.

    I’m doing fine. Still writing some, although not as much as I should. The kids are good. My daughter is now 13 and my son 9. Syringa ski races, plays soccer, plays the flute and sings. Jacob play soccer and piano and loves to ski but doesn’t race. Juliet is doing great.

    Israel was great and I did think about you when we were in TA. I wouldn’t even know where to start in describing the trip. The food was fantastic, but of course I love Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food. Best hummus of the trip was in Sderot.

    Our first Friday in Israel, we went to synagogue where we planned to have my daughter’s bat mitzvah. When the rabbi opened the ark and we stood, I realized Jerusalem was just over the ridge. In America when we face Jerusalem it doesn’t seem like a real place. It could be Oz, but in Israel, it is very real.

    I loved Jerusalem in a way I didn’t expect. I think I figured it would be oppressively ultra-orthodox, but it wasn’t. We were there in August, and it was so hot, but the nights in Jerusalem were so cool and we ended up on Jaffa Street. The place was so alive, like no place I could compare it to. We stopped in Paris for a couple of days on the way home and the street life didn’t hold a candle to Jaffa Street.

    Mostly though was this feeling that everyplace I went was Jewish. Other people may have come along later, but always, underneath what they built was something Jewish, always underneath was something mine. I had never felt that before.

    Beyond that there was the strange feeling walking under a 2000-year-old aqueduct in Casarea to get to the beach. There were the crazy drivers, and the odd experience of going to a tourist attraction and seeing UN Peacekeepers sitting around drinking iced coffee (Rosh Hanikra and Mount Benthal in the Golan) and the TA beaches.

    Hanukkah semeach.

Leave a Reply

